Savannah airport really knows how to say goodbye to the disabled!!! or how to headbutt the pasenger

we arrived at savannah airport yesterday at 6.45 am to check in for our flight back to NYC. When ever the disabled travel they have at their disposal if needed a person from disabled travel services office as guide to help them through the TSA and guide them to their departure/arrival gate.
Yesterday we asked for that assistance and a large older African American woman was our guide and she happily guided us through the maze that is airport security.
We thanked her and had about an hour to wait at the departure lounge, so Ella found Starbucks and Zeus and I settled in till flight time.
When the disabled travel they are normally loaded about 20 minutes before others. so the wheelchair made to fit between the rows of chairs can move freely. Well as expected 20 minutes before departure we were called to the gate and there was our guide from before and another, wearing the same uniform a equally old African American man.
We followed both through the sky tunnel to the plane, as we entered the tunnel the man muttered “goddam mutherfuckin dog no place on a plane” I thought OK were almost home ignore him..
The muttering continued and the profanity under his breath got worse, as we got close to the plane door we were actually about 4 feet from it and the man said “OK get in” motioning to the aisle chairto which I replied “sir I know you do this for a job but I am not light and to make it easy for you perhaps if you take the chair on board and let me wheel right up to the door you won’t have to lift me over the hump into the plane”

Instead of thanking me he muttered “first the damn dog now he knows my fucking job” so as I transferred into the chair instead of pulling the chair back into the plane, he pushed it forward over the edge and the chair dropped four inches over the doorway edge I started to fall out of the chair.

As I started to fall I said loudly but not yelling”woa what the hell” suddenly the woman ran back into my face and yelled “enough of your damn screaming lose the attitude” shocked I replied “ma’am that wasn’t screaming if you want me to scream block your ears I was falling what would you say? so you lose the attitude”
So the man finally got me to my seat and I transferred into it, and was doing up my lap belt and looking forward when I heard the man still standing beside me say “OH BY THE WAY” so I turned my head to the left and upwards towards the man standing over my left shoulder and said “yes” he quickly lent down head butted me and said with an evil grin “YOU GO FUCK YOURSELF”

My head knocked back into the seat and suddenly seeing stars, I yelled for someone to stop him he had just assaulted me but he was already halfway back to the departure lounge up the tunnel. The second officer had heard the ruckus at the door and followed him down the aisle, and heard and saw everything.
I was immediately given aid by the hostesses and the police were called to the top of the tunnel,but evidently he was summoned to the airport office. My statement was taken I was apologized to and told the airline didn’t employ him his company were contractors but delta would demand his firing and the airport police his arrest.
We were told we will hear from delta today, we have had a not so great history with delta in the past but this was not their fault and they actually stepped up very quick.
we’ll I have some send offs before I fly in the past but a head butt and profanity really tops the list.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

