Mia’s guide to surviving winter in a wheelchair

G’day folks, as you can probably tell by the G’day I’m originally although a bloody long time ago from Australia. Well right now back in Australia in my home town, it’s almost 100 degrees Fahrenheit and it hangs close to that for most of summer which in this time of the year back is what it is.
So living in New York this time of year is culture shock because below is what I’m used to.
manly 2

but below that is how it is for me most days.
sidewalk3

And this is how we dress back home

glenelg

So you can imagine how hard it is to push through that kind of snow is with a standard day chair
4 my chair 2

So I have decided to hook you up with my list of rock stars, that fixed my dilemma and winter proofed me and my chair and If you need a chair I’ll show you who are the only people who do it right.

So if you need a chair built for off road or heavy winter conditions go see mike box designs
mikeboxoffroad

Nobody does it better, if Wheelz Fotheringham can do this in a mike box chair
wheelz
a snow drift is child’s play
http://boxwheelchairs.com/
Normal front casters just don’t cut it so frog legs is the only company to set your chair up to handle the hard work of snow
http://www.froglegsinc.com/

BigRigWheelNotIncludedSilver-Back_medium

Now wheels are a thing of personal choice, but my chair started life like this
4 my chair 2

Now it looks like this
my chair

If you live somewhere where snow is almost year round these new snow ski casters are just what you need
wheelblades-2

Now from the skin out, noone outfits me in thermal fleecy hoodies better than the amazing Stevie Hopkins at 3e wheelchair love check out my purple baby you can get yours at http://www.3elove.com/

pull-thats-how-i-purple_compact

If you do everything above your chair makes it but your feet suffer, Most days I like cool kicks like these
vans
Or these
cool
but in reality these do the job only $28 from zappos
mia's boots

For gloves I prefer cannon dale bicycle gloves from SIDS Bikes 19th st manhattan
cannondale

( by the way if you live in NYC and need chair repairs go to 19th between 6th and 7th and ask for jay)
http://www.sidsbikes.com

So there it is toughen your chair, wrap your body and winter will be just another fun part of the year.

Mias wheels come from http://www.sportaid.com
P.S. A FRIEND JUST REMINDED ME ALWAYS CARRY A EMERGENCY CHARGER FOR YOUR CELL PONE

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

One thought on “Mia’s guide to surviving winter in a wheelchair”

Leave a Reply

