This kind of thing must have been discovered on the west coast?

Today Ella and I were climbing at Brooklyn boulders and after about two and a half hours a couple of birthday parties started invading my walls, low flying munchkins everywhere. One group was cool they were Israeli the children of IDF members here on a holiday, they had seen adaptive climbers before the champion climber of Israel has only one leg and the adaptive sports are well supported in Israel.

A second smaller party just a mum and a dad a teen a tween and two about 7 or 8 arrived we were sharing the same wall, and lining up for turns when the bleach blonde mom Ala Anna Nicole smith turned and saw me in the chair and had this look in her eye the look that normally is followed by the perfunctory “whom am I waiting for” because the disabled surely can’t climb but this one had an approach worthy of a blooper reel it went something like this
” Do you climb”
yes I do,
“but can you stand and walk?”

to which I replied no.

” but then how do you climb? She asked

“one hand in front of the other usually I replied till I get to the top

“’Wow that’s so special she said

”what are you talking about I asked ?

“wow really what do you climb for?”

“What do you mean? I asked?”

“Is it therapy? She asked

“No I love climbing” I said

“I have been doing this for ever”
,
I climb with a group here were all dis and otherwise abled “

. “wow she said something like this It must have been invented on the west coast?”

“What do you mean?”

“Well teaching people like you to do special things I mean it must have been invented on the west coast, they do stuff like that it must have come from the west coast?”

This woman had taken an accepted sport and complicated past time that when mastered was a joy in my life, and turned it into something that sounded like it needed a ring master three dwarfs and performing dogs in two minutes of inane diatribe?

Get over yourselves folks we the dis and otherwise abled climb, we ride motorcycles, drive cars, skydive, own businesses, travel the world,and have hot monkey sex and join the mile high club and it’s all done without an overweight nurses aid wiping our chins or for that matter the other end. When I climb I’m not there for your entertainment,I’m not there for you reach your prayer quota and don’t throw coins because I wont dance.
I will how ever point out the stupidity of your inane assumptions, because you need either that or a smack on the nose with a rolled up news paper.
Hmm maybe there is something to the claims that bleaching your hair can affect mental ability after all?

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

