“You poor thing it must be hard having to sit in your wheelchair and watch others climb?” or the story of an uninformed abelist!

Merry Christmas, happy New Year and seasons greetings, The one thing I love about the holidays is all the families leave town and the college kids go home to mom and dad, so what this means to this Aussie para dyke is wonderful destinations Like Brooklyn Boulders rock climbing gym at 575 degraw st brooklyn gets pretty empty and as a mad crazy rock climber empty is good.
brooklyn boulders

mia fortv 1
After an almost 6 month forced medical break from climbing, 3 days before christmas I renewed my membership and in that 1 week I have already climbed on my own and with Ella 3 days for a total of 20 hours, yep I am bat shit crazy for climbing.
People still don’t get it even in the 21st century that wheels under our asses doesn’t mean a life less lived sitting on the sidelines?
aaron-fotheringham-title-graphic
Case in question, 2 days ago I was having a coconut water drink during a ten minute break from a wall, and there was a japanese mother watching her two tweens climb and she saw me sitting wearing climbing shoes and a black diamond climbing rig, climbing leggings and a sports bra and she asked me “who are you waiting for?” at first I didn’t understand so I said “excuse me?” she replied “well you’re obviously not climbing you’re in the chair who are you waiting for?
Wow “you’re obviously not climbing you’re in the chair? Yeah we never climb”
gravity 2

Here I am climbing BKB’s stalactite
stalactite1
stalactite2
stalactite3
stalactite4
stalagtite

Incase she expanded her ignorance of our abilities to include amputees check this out
gravity1

Here is a group of climbers that include paraplegics ,quadraplegics, cerebral palsics, cancer survivors, amputees stroke survivors, and the vision impaired and even some returned warriors
miafortv5

So sorry maa’m the only person we wait for is slow climbers ,beginners and kids to clear a wall so we can top it like rockstars as the pics below show
rock climbing 1
wheelchair skydive

guts and glory

Mia's next dream
wheelchair madness
So you see maa’m you’re obviously a good mum ,I mean you’re kids are rock climbing not becoming couch potatoes but you really need to awaken yourself to the amazing abilities of the dis and otherwise abled and hey even join us. We’ll scare the crap out of you at first with the crazy daredevil shit we do, but once you get to know us you’ll see it looks outwardly crazy but we plan we practice we get damn good at what we do then we push the envelopes. so climb on we’ll see you at the top.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

