Screaming mad woman destroys the calm of a day

On Wednesday I went back to one of my great loves rock climbing,I rejoined Brooklyn boulders and Zeus and I were there by 11am and climbed till 2pm then went home and decided we would get back in 110%.
Today Ella and I were up by 10am out of the house by 11am and on a climbing wall by 12 midday and having a ball. Now when one is a dedicated climber there are certain commitments you make you must commit to always climb safe
1/ Always climb in a manner so as not to endanger others

2/Always make sure you’re correctly rigged up your safety knots are tied properly and you obey all procedures

3/ When ever you climb if you come across another climber in distress you must give assistance to the best of your ability.

When we arrived today and we rolled in with Zeus, all the regular climbers who have known him since he was a pup and my friend Car-los one of the Best climbers in the gym all welcomed us like long family and we climbed on.
We took a break after 30 minutes and our first two walls, and as I rolled past the sofas an Asian woman jumped an ran and we kept rolling back to a wall we thought nothing of her actions.
We climbed for another hour and as we were about to climb a wall suddenly a woman began screaming shrilly, and the screams got louder and louder. Even though I was in a wheelchair I immediately told Ella to run for help and I was about to free climb believing someone was injured on a wall and being the only qualified climber amongst a wall of beginners the job fell to me. The wall was 2 storeys high and as I looked I saw that an Asian woman was screaming and In her mania was hastily pulling rope out of her belay grapple and my fear was someone would drop perilously to the floor. I rolled towards her yelling to hold firm on the climbing rope don’t let slack go, all the while scanning upwards thining a climber was hooked up ,injured or frozen on a wall but to no avail there didn’t seem to be anyone there. She wouldn’t listen she just kept screaming and moving back, she was screaming so loud everyone in the gym came running and suddenly her husband repelled off the wall and told us she was screaming because of Zeus the service dog? The very dog that was sleeping under my chair connected to a strong double thickness waist leash no more than 3 feet long and so well trained that even if he wasn’t he never leaves my side not for a moment.
All the danger the improper life threatening belaying by her the disruption the mayhem was for no other reason than a dog 30 feet away frightened her? she could have killed whoever she was belaying with al the pulling out of rope the amountof slack she produced was longer than the wall was high.
All the danger, all the pulling cable so her husband had to grip for his life on a wall now without competent belaying. Children had begun crying and the management the staff be-layers and staff all responded professional compassionately and with empathy and even then the husband was abusing us for having a service dog.
My hat goes off to Car-los and and the entire staff, they handled it with compassion for her but explained with care that they had known Zeus since he was 12 weeks old and he was part of the Brooklyn boulders family and completely harmless, they apologized to us and even comped Ella a few passes for the fact we no longer felt like climbing.

I have said many times in my writings that I seek out places as a transgender lesbian and a disabled woman that make me feel like I’m part of their family, and Brooklyn boulders climbing gym 575 degraw st Brooklyn new York is such a place they welcome everyone, the screaming could be heard in Manhattan but the apology was firm heart felt and pleasant thank you BKB for always being there.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

