Met foods supermarket bowne st flushing NY 11355 you are a disgrace and in serious breach of federal law.

Today was a great day, it was my first chance to go to poppas for a visit, my first since our Australia trip. All was wonderful until on the way home we decided to drop in on an old problem for a few things, the Met food store bowne st flushing owned by a local Bangladeshi family since Ella was a small child
(See below their previous infractions.) https://disabledaccessdenied.wordpress.com/2011/05/30/hey-new-york-retailers-its-a-store-not-a-jail/

We were dropping in just for cat and dog food and some vegan friendly bread, tomatoes and mushrooms.
As I entered and rolled down the animal food aisle, we rolled past the middle aged middle eastern man the owner and he said nothing. As I got to the end of the aisle I turned left towards the bread aisle, and as I did an African American woman rammed my chair with her cart and I swerved quickly and said with a laugh “hey careful I’m already disabled”

She started abusing me in a real ghetto style, questioning my gender identity and yelling loudly at me so all could hear. The owner came up and even though after two to three years of him being informed by federal authority after federal authority that he couldn’t piss on the ADA, and he couldn’t lock the fire escape with chains and padlocks or the front wheelchair entrance he decided to choose today to scream. Todays rant was even more angry than anything in the past “you get your damn dog out of my store” I replied “are we doing this again do you ever learn?” he replied “I KNOW YOU, YOU REPORT ME YOU ,YOU, I KNOW YOU, I KNOW YOU, GET OUT WITH YOUR DOG.

This man knows zeus is a service dog he has been reprimanded by local politicians, the fire department and the nypd in the past so he nows his tirade against Zeus was and is illegal.

Ella who has known this man since she was a toddler was visibly upset at this betrayal, but instead of crying she threw down the groceries and said “I don’t need this shit this is the last straw were never shopping here again.

He wasn’t content to abuse and rouse up group anger towards Zeus and I
amongst his shoppers, we realized as we crossed the road heading the three blocks to home he was behind us and followed us for half a block?
I don’t know what his intent was, but self defense laws in New York state are clear in his store they favor him, but on the street following us after publicly abusing us in front of many witnesses the law would favor us if he tried anything.
We live 3 blocks from his store so he followed us a third of the way home. Well Mr what ever your name is, you think I reported you now you have not seen anything yet! I’m typing in my left hand dialing human rights commission with the other.
dasvidanya .

.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

