Please don’t pat me I’m working (the service dogs dilemna)

zeus service vest

G’day My name Is Zeus, Yes I’m cute and yes my fur is soft like a plush toy But please fight my cuteness you see I have a job. The human I’m attached to by this leash has special needs, it has something to do with the wheels under her and from time to time I smell this smell and then she shakes and can’t talk and sleeps and I went to school to help her and keep her safe when that happens. They also taught me to do cool things like open doors and fridges, and bring water and medicine and even pull the chair with wheels to her when she needs it, and she also has this thing called PTSD that makes her quiet and upset and when that happens I let her pat me and I get real close until she smiles again.

So you see I’m really quite busy when you see me, so again of course say hi but don’t pat me and please ask your little humans not to run up and grab me I know it’s fun but I’m concentrating.
What’s that? How do you tell the difference between me and a pet? well my cool vest with writing on it is how you tell

I can’t read it but my human is always telling people I’m a service dog and that is says so in big letters on my vest see below yes the picture.
service vest

Another thing parents, I’m a lover not a fighter no need to be frightened I’m not allowed to get angry so even if you’re frightened of dogs why pass it on to your kids ? Really I mean it’s your phobia not theirs, it’s a teaching moment point out my vest if your mini humans are real small tell them I’m like nurse in peter pan

Peter Pan Nana1
I am a nanny for disabled big people.
I don’t get my neighbors in Flushing Queens, they’re from Korea and China and Japan and they’re really nice except they seem to run when they see me or any dog? and they pick up their children and yell “no dog no dog” ?
There is no need, you see
1/ I’m on a leash

2/ I’m there for my human, quite honestly you don’t matter you’re not even in my thoughts.
I’m only close to you as I carefully lead my human in her wheelchair around you safely, or when we pass you in the street. Hey watch me for a while before you panic, give me a chance you’ll love me and you’ll want to pat me everyone does but hey please resist I’m working.
And lastly sorry you can’t feed me, and please stop getting angry with my human when they ask you not to pat or feed me they’re not being rude it’s the rules. Don’t get angry with her if you distract me and she needs me I can’t do my job.
If you own a shop or business or restaurant before you yell no dog get out of my business, please make yourself aware of the Americans with disabilities act
ada service dog law

The supreme court says keeping me out, or throwing me out is against federal state and county laws and can cost you huge fines, and hey who can afford those? so be nice be caring and don’t worry I am trained to do my business in the gutter not on your showroom floor and my human always picks it up.

Oh yeah I almost forgot, please don’t bring your dog over to play again I’M WORKING, and humans don’t get upset yes your boo boo is cute( not as cute as me but hey who is?) but when you see my vest just reign your retractable leash in and step wide and let me do my job.

Anyway it’s my day off and I have my own cats and they’re begging to be chased so gotta go

Hi this is zeus’s human, training the amazing animals that make our lives livable can cost as much as $50,000 each. Many soldiers and servicemen and women returning from serving their country need a service animal so pleae If you only give to one charity give to service dog charities such as battle buddies
http://usabattlebuddies.org/

And if you can’t find a charity go to the wounded warrior project
http://www.woundedwarriorproject.org/
but I Know with 22 soldiers who made it home committing suicide and 2 still serving overseas every day PTSD IS REAL AND IT KILLS and service animas help. So give and tell the soldiers thankyou for your service and we want you to stick around and make a difference.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

3 thoughts on “Please don’t pat me I’m working (the service dogs dilemna)”

Leave a Reply

