The New York fire department a friend to the wheelchair using Community

patch

We all know what hero’s the fire department in NYC are 343 ran in on 9/11 and never made it out. Every day these heroes run what our brain tells us is the wrong way they run into burning buildings so we the public can walk out in one piece, heroes every
last one of them.
Everyone has seen them carrying out family pets, putting oxygen on puppies, and in the interest of full disclosure I have to admit my biased. My brotherinlaw Dirk,is a Vietnam hero, he served in the Australian navy then came home after a career in the navy and started at the bottom in the south Australian fire brigade and worked his way to the top before retiring.
safiremetro

He spent the rest of his working life fighting fires and saving lives, So you see I grew up knowing real heroes who rode red trucks instead of white stallions.
I am honored in the 17 years I have called NYC home to have met and befriended some of the brave men and women of this great cities fire department, and none greater than the men and women of the fire house in flushing queens of engine 273 and ladder 129.

ny's finest
Yesterday as many people who walk find out, in new york a lot of disgusting individuals allow their dogs to crap on the sidewalk and don’t pick it up.

Well when you use a stick or paper to clean your shoes you’re OK, but when both wheels at the same time roll through it if I don’t see it half a spin later it’s all over my hands and yesterday on union st that’s exactly what happened.
Hands covered in poop fudge and my wheels tread full of the same my hands were stinking to high hell. I rolled gingerly down union st flushing looking for a puddle or a unattended garden hose but to no avail. Then a voice boomed as I crossed the drive of the FDNY fire house in flushing ”can we help you” I turned and it was a fire officer. He saw my hands and my wheels and he went for a hose.
In five minutes two officers had hosed my hands and got baby wipes and paper towel and hosed my wheels and they patted Zeus. They were amazed that without the ability to walk I always clean up after zeus.
Now don’t flame me for diverting firemen from saving the public, these ultimate professionals would have dropped everything and gone if the alarms went and they told me so, this was down time where they were having coffee and doing paper work. These officers didn’t hesitate yet I rolled past over two dozen businesses and thirty homes and three supers sweeping stoops and noone offered, so once again New Yorks heroes went above and beyond.
They don’t care who you are, who you vote for, or who you pray to or who you love they just come when called and put their lives in harms way every time. So next time you’re in their way, how about not complaining and keeping the bird you want to flip wrapped around the wheel and pull the hell over out of the way. Say thank you and give a silent prayer to who ever you believe in as they pass, that that crew one and all will be there to hug their kids tonight because without them one day you might not be there to hug yours.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

