If you have wheels under your ass Don’t fly delta and you can fly virgin australia domestic, as long as you don’t need the bathroom!

G’day from Adelaide Australia readers,when we left New York on the 15th of November we were starting a journey planned like a military exercise through delta airlines disability services.
We were guaranteed we would be met at check in taken through TSA, customs boarding and then be met at every layover along the way.
Delta Airlines talked a good talk, but when it came to walking the walk or in the case of the disabled roll the roll they fell horribly short. When we went to board in New York the orderly refused to push me onto the plane and I was forced to crawl down the aisle 7 rows to my seat. The delta iarlines upon arrival at the LAX international sky lounge after I asked to check whether our connection was ontime instead heard “please cancel our connecting flights all the way to australia and find us a new airline?”
“BOB” the doorman at the skylounge when challenged why in the hell he would do such a thing to plans that had taken six months to plan, he replied “I thought I was doing you a favour?”
A favour? in one click of the mouse he cancelled
1/disability services at every connection
2/medically required vegan meals.
3/An entry via for Ella
4/ A aisle chair on the domestic flights require to get me to and from the entrance and the toilets when required.
5/specially organised seats only 3 rows from the door.
So “BOB” after being told to reverse what he had done did nothing other than get us seats on the plane leaving and hour later which meant we would miss all connections and he reinstated nothing of the above.
To rub salt into the wound while I was in the delta sky lounge having a bourbon rocks to calm down, “bob” decided it was his right to pull up a chair next to me and spend ten minutes insisting he did nothing wrong? only after I reminded him how angry he made me did he retreat to his desk.
One hour before we were due to board Ella still had no visa, and If it wasn’t for the amazing rockstar “Sean” at the gate 38 boarding lounge for the virgin australia international leg, we would have had to turn around and go back home to New York.

Sean in 20 minutes found all our original arrangements, and got Ella a visa and even upgraded us to ten rows closest to the door as an apology.
When we arrived in sydney and changed to the domestic leg of virgin australia, we were seated 10 rows down the middle of the plane not the front row we paid for.
Every plane that flies in the air is required to have a collapsible “aisle chair” a small specially built wheelchair used to transport customers from their own chairs to their seat and back upon boarding and disembarking and also to get you to and from the toilets. The hostess said”you’ll have to hold it we don’t get your kind often so we don’think we need the chair”

Well I have had a wonderful 9 days in Adelaide and 5am tomorrow I fly to Sydney, again on virgin Australia and I am hoping
I don’t need to pee because they will again tell me”My kind are not regulars so just hold it”
I would live on virgin Australia international if I could, it is like a flying five star restaurant but I’m sorry delta and virgins domestic airlines are so bad I wouldnt put my childhood molestor on them and thats someone I wish was dead.
So next time you’re told by delta “no worries we are doing a deal with delta/virgin but they’re all the same? remind yourself of this and run a mile.delta is so far beneath virgin international delta is a flying brothel, where as virgin is le cerq with wings. Next time we fly it will be with virgin because you see folks when it comes to travelling we are not.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

1 thought on “If you have wheels under your ass Don’t fly delta and you can fly virgin australia domestic, as long as you don’t need the bathroom!”

Leave a Reply

