“Let’s throw a charity fundraiser ” screw wheelchairs who wants them !

Last night Ella and I attended a charitable fundraiser for aids and HIV research. during my afternoon I decided to check out the venue well I got there it was the Bryant park grill a beautiful Georgian style entrance with stone steps and columns but no ramp I got a workers attention he took me to a marquee that had a carpeted piece of flimsy plywood at such a steep angle that I with an off-road hybrid chair and 22 inch biceps and able to rock climb with just my arms was unable to make more than halfway?
I pointed out to the worker that the plywood was bowing under my chair he shrugged and said it was this or through the kitchen.
Two hours later Ella and I approached the entrance and the dangerous ramp was it, Ella also a climber had difficulty pushing me up the hill but we made it. Once inside I tried to roll from the marquee to the actual brick building as I crossed the fresh hold I dropped eight inches they had I discovered slung AstroTurf over a one foot gap between the buildings with nothing under it? They had decided filling the gap or covering it with timber was too expensive it seems even though the cheapest per plate attendance was $200 a plate an actual table costing thousands. We rang ahead as Ella’s magazine is a major sponsor of the charity and arranged vegan food and were told it was table service , what we got was cold quinoa burnt black onions and rock hard pumpkin to balance on my lap in a wheelchair. Whether or not the charity you’re supporting physically disabled or the medically challenged or a kids tee all team the Americans with disabilities act hell even just health and safety laws say carpets layer over a one foot wide chasm is stupid as much as it is illegal but at. $200 a plate if I’m spending that kind of money and being abused the waitresses should at least be wearing latex or leather but alas no whips just ignorance and second rate food burnt by third rate cooks and function directors who think wheelchairs do not matter if this is how you treat the benefactors god help the recipients.

20131029-132131.jpg

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

