Entrance to nuclear fallout shelter,100 year old coal Shute or wheelchair ramp for disabled dyke?

20131023-171200.jpg

When Ella’s mother and father bought the studio apartment Ella and I call home, one thing they loved was the pre World War Two building with a marble entrance and staircase right to their ground floor door. momma got cancer and passed not long after they moved here,and in 2011 poppa moved into assisted living and Ella and I were given the apartment.Well I was in a wheelchair so we asked the management where was the accessible entrance ? They told us that even though our front door was only ten feet from the outside path I have to roll twenty yards around the back of a seven story building to a ramp twice the legal angle as described by the Americans with disabilities act and it’s almost 100 years old.We discovered it originally was the coal Shute,and above the door is the international nuclear emblem with a sign declaring “nuclear fallout shelter”.
Now I can rock climb with just my arms , swim two miles a day and complete wheelchair marathons but even with my service dog Zeus pulling the only way to the top is to pull myself up with the handrail which is also over eighty years old .Well three months ago it was so rusted the bracket attaching it to the wall rusted out and snapped, an urgent call was sent to the management and it had them assuring me a new rail would be made post haste, well Today, three months later I hear a noise out the window and the super is at the bracket, does have a new rail ? No,a new bracket? No ,a welding unit? No,it’s a paint brush and their painting over the rust ! Leaving it dangerous and broken just pretty? Thanks elite building management,when I re-break my neck on the coal Shute/ramp because of your negligence at least the rail will look pretty

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

