The beacon theatre hosted his holiness with class and the disabled with care class and compassion

A wonderful lady called Lynne sonnenberg gifted me tickets to three days of teachings by his holiness the Dalai Lama on the ancient Buddhist teaching the heart sutra they were held at the beacon theater. Now even though the event was organized by Buddhists it was hosted by a theatre that employed young teens on basic wage so my hopes were high for ADA compliance but I was cautious. The first day I arrived at the door an hour early and was immediately ushered to a safe area by staff with other wheelchair users we were first in and the wanding and and the security pat down was done with respect and they had security guide us through the large crowd to our seats quickly and respectfully
Zeus my service dog was with me he was welcomed cared for given his own space beside me and soon was the sweetheart of bodyguards and ops alike because being a Malinois he was a breed they were already used working with I attended two of the three days the staff were friendly professional and on the one occasion a attendee complained about a dog attending they were completely straightened out on the law and I was apologized to. The teachings were life changing and I was allowed to enjoy without worry because the staff, the security and all involved did their job with the highest level of professionalism care and compassion. Namaste beacon

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

