WHEN I SAID WHAT A SPAZZ YOU TOOK ME OUT OF CONTEXT!

Today I was having a very lively discussion about the affordable care act and the misconceptions and pro’s an cons, one person was arguing against my point so to perhaps gain some understanding of where there coming from both geographically and philosophically I went to their face book wall and had a read.
I scrolled just three posts down and there was the person using caps”OH WHAT A SPAZZ” I have neuro spasticity and in the old days uninformed medicos used to call centers for mental healthcare “spastic centers”
When ever we allow any medical physical or mental illness to be used as an insult put down or as a basis for bigotry, we push all the disabled community community down a little further towards second class citizenship and the butt of ridicule and that can never be tolerated.
When I went back to the wall we were arguing on, I stated I just had read the persons wall and found the posts offensive.
The person made comments that I was touchy and they had the right to do what they wanted and they withdrew from the argument. An hour later someone came on telling me I had taken it out of context, they meant it in a nice way and oh yeah I must have searched to find it? Like as if bigotry well hidden is OK? and that there was in some parallel universe a context where using someones neurological diagnosis as an insult was perfectly fine so they were really a nice person?

The owner of the wall came on and said he could see both sides, I said if bigotry had two sides to it’s face both were ugly and the use of physical and mental impairment to insult and put a person down is just another more heinous form of bullying.
In my opinion and that of most decent caring people,it is no different to calling a person of color the N word and thinking it was OK Paula deen tried that and she knows how that worked out. Using ones impairment or disability or medical or mental diagnosis as a insult against them is bad enough, but when it is used so often that the generation coming up simply believe its OK then we have committed a crime against those people who live with it every day and have to endure the insults and slurs.

If my friend when I go back to face book has unfriended me I will be sad, up until now and even still he seems a nice guy but even nice guys get it wrong and if anyone I know thinks using “SPAZZ” or any other disability based insult is OK or they can see both sides then perhaps we need to part.

This blog exists to weed these people out, to shine a light on their attitudes and bigotries. If me doing this upsets you, then the problem is yours not mine so look within yourself. if you’re a person of color and grew up being called “spic “ or “wetback” or greaser” or “nigger” and you’re calling someone a “crip” or a “gimp” or a “spazz” or a” retard” then put on a bed sheet and white hood you just became as bad as those who tormented you OKKK?

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

One thought on “WHEN I SAID WHAT A SPAZZ YOU TOOK ME OUT OF CONTEXT!”

Leave a Reply

