Bill glitch keep your abelist opinions to yourself

Last night I made the mistake of watching iron side? The original role was played by a white gay male( raymond burr) playing a quadriplegic cop in San Francisco, and now it is being played by an African American playing a paraplegic in New York? If only that was the worst of it.
Hollywood has a long history of aborting the heritage and rights of ethnicities and minorities, AL Jolson played black face, kung fu the story of a wandering shaolin monk kwai Chang Kane was written for martial arts god Bruce lee after his amazing success as kato in the green hornet but at the last moment David carradine had tape put on his eyes to make them slanted and we were meant to believe that a 6ft 4 inch white guy was a monk from china.
Well it’s the 21st century we have ha a real double amputee wounded warrior play a double amputee wounded warrior in a major motion picture gregory dadson in battleship
gregory_d_gadson2012-prosthestic-legs-med

But instead of honoring this style of honesty in entertainment the makers of iron side thought to hell with that how hard can it be to sit down all day?

Well I have lived in New york for 17 years and have called it home for the entirety of my disability so far, and one thing I know is to this date and we moved around a lot no office building or apartment block has an elevator that rides all the way to the roof. You always have to walk the last floor by a staircase, yet last night in not one but two scenes iron side rolled out the service door on the roof of a building ?

In another scene the door to a squad car opened and iron side just got in like a normal able bodied person , I on the other hand who is actually disabled would have to either pull myself up with over head handle then one by one pick up my legs one at a time to place them in the car if the car was sans handle I have to roll up parallel with the car roll side ways pull myself in sit upright and straighten my legs yet Mr magic iron side does neither.

In the next scene he is in his chair unstrapped or secured leaning over past a point where he would tip out to lift weights, and the camera angle shows the punching bag at a normal height of about 6ft but the next shot he is eye to eye with it.
In many shots he moves himself in his chair without lifting himself, as if he has control of his lower body. And in the lovemaking scene what they do, and I speak from experience would tip the chair.

There were dozens more but to the meaning of the title, we had an intelligent discussion on the show while it was on last night on facebook but this morning a man “ bill glitch” decided, to quote him “we had our panties in a bunch” and get a life it’s TV ? Well can you imagine someone saying that if instead of the African American star tom cruise was done up in boot polish? Would we be so blase? If the female was a male in drag Ala globe theater era?
We fought hard for our civil rights as disabled community for several decades and finally won, it’s called the AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT it guarantees no discrimination in employment.
I was a successful actor writer and comic for may years, my agent would send me for jobs that were “my type” so how does an able bodied actor fit the “type” for a roll for a paraplegic? Blair underwood said “my mother is in a chair for MS so I know how to do it” well Blair 1/ she would be in a different chair
2/ she would sit differently and havehave more muscle control
3/she would push differently
4/ she would transfer differently(getting in and out of your chair)
So no you don’t know how it is. Its wonderful you’re a loving caring supporting son but you saying “my mom uses one so I know what it is like” is like me saying “my sister is an Olympic swimmer so why can’t I go to the Olympics for swimming I’ve seen her do it”?
The thought that simply because it’s entertainment everything goes has long since been retired with fonzies jacket, when you misrepresent an entire community like this believe it or not there is a large proportion of the community who will have the mind set “why should I be forced to put a ramp at the front door or care at all about disabled rights, if Blair can do it why can’t they?”
So Mr glitch and wow what a coincidental name, yes it matters no we don’t have them in a bunch, and you don’t get a dog in this fight unless it’s a service dog because as an able bodied non wheelchair using person you have no idea what you’re talking about.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

