“ Everyone knows manual wheelchair users can’t go very far or do anything without someone pushing them”

The internet is a strange place, you can find a group for anyone especially on face book.
As a wheelchair using disabled gay woman, I am a member of several groups online for the openly gay and for the disabled, the reason for this as a rule you won’t have some fool asking embarrassing questions or being insulting because all the members are living a similar life.
There is a group on face book called “I’m in a wheelchair so what” today in a thread about safety on the streets a man made the comment

“well the reason I use a powered wheelchair is like all disabled people know you can’t do much or go far in a manual chair without someone to push you?”

I questioned him on his broad statement that all people can’t do much or go far and he replied “well most”? I brought him to task over his statements and I don’t think I am wrong.
Let me qualify what I am about to say, I judge noone if you use a power chair and that’s the best you can achieve with the limitations put in place by your diagnosis mazeltov, your amazing because you’re still here.
But for one person to assume the role of declaring that ALL manual chair users are helpless is offensive, My mentors whether in person or simply by their existence are amazing manual chair using people who live full lives and want for nothing and they’re in manual chairs. Paralympians like
Rachael burrows
rachel
to the very accomplished and cool Tim maloney world para-athletic official and former Paralympian champion
tim maloney2

and adaptive dancers like
Marka Danielle,
marka
kitty lunn
KittyLunn226--1
and my best friend who asks she just be referred to as dancr, Yes the missing e is deliberate and thousands more who get up every day support their families run businesses and have careers and jobs are belittled and put down by statements such as his.

Yes some of us have power chairs for convenience I used to, and I judge noone if you have one It’s not my place. From anamazing 2 year old like the mind blowing Texas boy Abel rose
Abel-Rose

And extreme sports heroes like
wheelz fotheringham
aaron-fotheringham-title-graphic
Christiaan otter bailey
Christiaan_Bailey
Jesse Bilauer
jesse
They storm the Bastille every day in their manual chairs and achieve amazing things, and some of them yes also own power chairs but not because their weak but because sometimes it’s just convenient.
My best mate Stevie Hopkins who runs 3e wheelchair love clothing company uses a power chair all the time it doesn’t make him weak just like manual doesn’t make us cooler we just know what works for us.
steviehopkins

The last thing we need is someone who isn’t part of our lives telling us we have limitations just because we have wheels under our asses, sir if you need a power chair fine own it, and when you write say “I can’t go anywhere far without help “ and we’ll respect that. In the mean time I hoped you enjoyed checking out some of the pics in this story of us manual chair users doing what we do every day.
The picture below is me rockclimbing with no help
stalagtite

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

1 thought on ““ Everyone knows manual wheelchair users can’t go very far or do anything without someone pushing them””

Leave a Reply

