Bare burger on 1st avenue and 87th Manhattan manager screams “get your fucking fake dog out of my damn restaurant” as he forcebly removes wheelchair using disabled woman and her service dog!

As a few of my friends know today’s first appointment with a physical therapist was a very stressful appointment, That appointment went reasonably well but it ended at 10.30am and I had to kill time until 4pm some forty blocks away so after a cool couple of hours in central park with my service dog Zeus I rolled into the neighborhood of my four pm appointment and looked for a venue for lunch.

bearforwebjpg

I was close to my old neighborhood of 88th and s 1st so I decided to check out my old block and as I rolled towards it I saw my until today favorite vegan franchise bare burger had opened a outlet on the corner of 87th and 1st. So I opened the door and and as I rolled in a short over weight Latino waiter came rushing up quietly but frantically saying” you must leave no dog please no dog” to which I smiled and replied “it’s quite OK sir he’s a service dog” he replied “ no no service dog pet dog no dogs if manager sees it he get very mad” I repeated “he’s a service dog”

Then a bearded shabbily dressed man dressed more like a skateboarder loudly said “the dog gets out” I told him it was a service dog to which he replied “it’s a damn fake get your fake dog out of my restaurant”. I got out my plasticized copy of the relevant ADA law stating he could not ask for papers and that the dog was allowed to be there he glanced at it threw it back at me, and loudly told me again to get my “fucking fake ass service dog out of his god damn restaurant” or he’d call the cops! I told him to please call as he was in the wrong, to which he replied again “get your fake ass dog out out of my damn restaurant”

He then proceeded to walk towards me closer and closer bouncing me out his restaurant, I left and rolled two store fronts down. As I sat there hailing a police cruiser on the phone with my Ella, he rushed over down the public street screaming at me that he was sick of fake service dogs and mental therapy dogs were not allowed. I told him Zeus was a seizure alert dog to which he replied “oh make up another one”
and bent over screaming at me to a gathering crowd while the entire time my wife was a witness t it all on the other end of the phone.

The police cruiser came over and I proceeded to explain the illegal removal of my service dog and myself and as I was talking to the cops he rushed out screaming And he was told by the cops to shut up or be arrested they were talking to me. I explained to the two police officers, one of them an officer LEW, a young Asian officer exclaimed I was right and he was going in to tell him so. The manager came out and tried to claim It wasn’t about the dog he suspected I was drunk or high as he said it a woman coming out the restaurant interjected “you’re a damn liar you screamed at this person to get their fake ass dog out of your restaurant”
Then the Asian officer came out and tried to tell me that “he wasn’t telling you the dog couldn’t come in, he was worried about the health department! I calmly told the officers “well he has now told two different stories to two different officers and was contradicted by an independent witness and there is a room full of people who will back me up so what are you going to do? To which he replied nothing, it is a federal law and he is in flagrant violation but we the NYPD have no authority to enforce it.
I asked for him to brought out so he could be told again in front of me that he was in the wrong so they did, he replied “wow you must like your food it looks like you do!” Then realizing the cops were useless I took advantage of him not being allowed to move and told him “ How dare you disrespect a human being because you worship the almighty dollar, you must get a certificate of occupancy, a liquor license and a health department clearance to run a restaurant just as you must pay taxes and you must obey all laws not just the ones that suit you. The AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT IS NOT NEGOTIABLE AND IT IS NOT TOILET PAPER FOR YOU TO WIPE YOUR FRANCHIED ASS ON.

We have wounded warriors coming home every day. many will use service dogs to get back to life and live as normal as is possible after what they have been through, how dare the shaggy clone from Scooby Doo think he can publicly abuse and chase people out like common criminals just to suit his ego! You might be a national franchise Bare Burger but when I finished there no less than two dozen locals came up and said they had tweeted face booked and blogged what happened and told their doorman their concierge and their neighbors.
New york might be a big city, but it is made up of small close knit neighborhoods who don’t tolerate corporate assholes thinking they can walk all over the rights of their neighbors their wives their children and their elderly and disabled to make a buck. So Bare Burger be prepared to bear the brunt of your actions, BE WARNED if it happens again I’ll line up 100 service dogs a day to come into your restaurant till you have to start serving dog food to handle it.
RESPECT OUR EXISTANCE OR EXPECT OUR RESISTANCE

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

5 thoughts on “Bare burger on 1st avenue and 87th Manhattan manager screams “get your fucking fake dog out of my damn restaurant” as he forcebly removes wheelchair using disabled woman and her service dog!”

  1. “I’ll line up 100 service dogs a day to come into your restaurant till you have to start serving dog food to handle it.”

    I disagree with this single notion. It is borderline harassment. A Service animal does not give you the right to harass people, regardless of the reason. I’m sorry. I do agree with the rest though.

    1. A law is a law, you don’t like my attitude? Well he doesn’t get to ignore the law. My dog is legal and he runs a restaurant he has to follow laws whether he agrees or not so if he hates one service dog I’ll give him a hundred every day

Leave a Reply

