Are you Ada compliant? Yes but the toilet is three doors down and the shower isn’t accessible and gym is up a flight of stairs?

After 2 years of exploratorys and x-rays and cat scans and MRI’S, my surgeon told me He could operate on a torn rotator cuff and arrange 3 months therapy and I would be fine but he chose 6 months of three times a week and then he would review it and maybe surgery would still be necessary? Full disclosure, he owns the therapy center so
It sounded like a conflict of interest to me so I asked if it was OK if I did the therapy somewhere else and reluctantly he agreed, now my needs are the following

Wheelchair accessible
ADA compliant(there is a difference)
female therapist
takes aetna insurance

So I rang one that had AMA approval and they said yes to everything, so I asked where they were and they said part of a major gym chain mid town ( starts with e ends with ox), I asked if they had their own equipment and massage rooms and showers? The receptionist put the manager on and the following was expressed.
“like we use the gym equipment so like if three people are in front you have to wait and like you must book massage separately and like Oh I see you’re in a wheelchair well like were not interested you would clutter up the gym and upset people who only want to see other fit people like?
So let me see if I have this right?I go and aetna pay hundreds for an hours therapy three times a week, but then they want me to waste time in that hour lining up for equipment and even though they would charge aetna for the hour and all the therapy they want me to pay separate for the massage? And oh yeah we only want pretty people so go away!!
So I ring the one my doctor owns, therapy would involve warming up then using equipment having manipulation and massage, I start asking questions so they tell me to check out the website photos so I do. the photos make it very clear that yes I can roll in, but no there are 6-8 stairs to the massage area and the shower is a fiberglass slide in the size you have in an RV, and the toilet is just a small average size cubicle but they consider themselves Ada compliant? and as far as having a male or female therapist I evidently get no say!.

So I rang one recommended by the hospital I had the MRI at, and they are a walk up with the toilet three floors up shared with offices and other businesses, and could I leave my wheelchair in the waiting room because space is tight?

None of the above is made up this was all told to me by people who thought they were knowledgeable professionals and there was nothing wrong with telling me the following
disabled people aren’t attractive
we should magically be cured so we can leave our wheelchairs in the waiting room
and accessibility equals staircases?

So new york physical therapy industry, there is a thing called the Americans with disabilities act try it on for size one size fits all.
and oh by the way ITS THE LAW FOOL.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

