Delta airlines has a disabled traveler assistance department, Just Try getting through!

Ella and I are going home to Australia for a short working holiday later this year, now you might not realize readers that all major airlines have a special department for disabled travelers.
The special services department helps you book all your special needs wheelchair transfer, service dog s special medical aids and such they meet you curbside they walk you through security , TSA and immigration and get you from plane to plane transfers.
Well as a seasoned traveler, I’m used to these departments most airlines have a direct number on their website you don’t book and pay through the normal number you do everything through disabled services.
So two weeks ago I rang Delta airlines to plan our 15 days in Australia, we spoke with someone called Vance and he planned the itinerary, plane transfers and wheelchair transfer because you can’t take yours on board you have to transfer to theirs at the plane door, all seemed well so we arranged to hold the booking to the 15th when it would be payed for and he emailed us a itinerary with the words CONFIRMED BOOKING on it.

Well since the 8th which was that call our trip changed , we no longer have to drop Zeus in Detroit on the way and pick him up on the way home so we rang on the 13th to change the connections and we rang the general number to ask to be transferred to the disabled services and this is what “CUSTOMER SERVICE passed of as efficient

DELTA OPERATOR-Thank you for calling delta how can I help?

ME-Can I be put through to disabled services please

DELTA OPERATOR-What do you want them for?

ME-I am a disabled traveler and they are planning my trip and I have a few questions

DELTA OPERATOR-What do you want them for?

ME-I am a disabled traveler and I have questions

DELTA OPERATOR-Why are you asking for them ?

ME-Because they are the disabled special services group

DELTA OPERATOR-why do you want them?

ME-Mam please put me through to special services

DELTA OPERATOR-What do you want them for?

ME-PUT YOUR SUPERVISOR ON NOW!

DELTA OPERATOR-What do you want him for ?

ME-BECAUSE YOUR INCOMPETENT

I was the on hold for 15 minutes then the supervisor came on I repeated the above incompetence to him and he was speechless so I thought finally an intelligent life form, then he asked “why do you want them ?? PLEASE SIR LET’S NOT DO THE DELTA VERSION OF WHO’S ON FIRST AGAIN so he finally put me through.
Now Vance the person I originally dealt with told me to ask for him when I called , so I did and they told me it didn’t work that way they were on a call rotation system you got who you got, (first mistake). Then I told them I had tickets held till the fifteenth and need to discus them and gave them the booking number, She proceeded to tell me the maximum amount of days to hold a ticket was three and our seats had been given away(second mistake). But she found the Email he sent and proceeded to tell me he had only reserved one ticket not two (third mistake), and the ticket didn’t go to the correct city in Australia we would end our trip at Sydney half a country away from our intended destination (fourth Mistake).
Now I may have wheels under my ass but I not only speak English clearly and succinctly but almost another dozen languages as well so there should be zero problem understanding my requests. But if the person in my place had a stutter, or had maybe a stroke and their voice was impeded, or any one of a thousand other problems that affect speech they would be screwed. This isn’t normal run of the mill customer service that could be excusedfolks, this is a department supposedly specially trained to work with all kind of disability and this schlock is the best they can do?
I changed to delta because of my last experience with the special services department with QANTAS, when the so called special aid sat texting her pappi while I was threatened with a strip search because I a disabled woman without the ability to stand and walk was asked to to stand up and walk over and wait in the corner while we x ray your chair? Yes folks somewhere a village of TSA is missing it’s idiot.
Here is the link to my Qantas experience https://disabledaccessdenied.wordpress.com/2011/03/24/stand-up-or-get-naked-bend-over/

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

