Soup and a sandwich, “would you like hate and bigotry with that?”

Yesterday Ella and I had a full day, we had breakfast together at 8 am in the west village which meant her Zeus and I left home before 7. After breakfast she went to work and went to my chair repair people for a touch up and to check out a strange noise and then I got my hair done. I surprised Ella after the hair dressers and asked her out to lunch. Ella’s office is in the business district in the Chelsea part of Manhattan, and all around the office buildings are all the franchise fast food chains. Now Ella and I being vegan, we had to look but we found a sandwich shop with vegan wraps and as I rolled to the counter a young African American worker looked up, looked again and burst out laughing yelling “OH MY GOD DOES IT THINK IT’S A WOMAN ,OH MY GOD HAVE YOU SEEN THIS?” and he nudged the girl next to him, I would say she was African American but everyone there except the manageress was so he and the girl ran into the back room and kept screaming IT THINKS IT’S A WOMAN.
So we asked for the manager and a small Irish woman said “that’ll be me” I told her what happened Ella said she witnessed-it and several other customers murmured support. She apologized, and as we were talking the offending male tried to lie his way out of it and was curtly put in his place by the boss so we left. Ella said that the chain “soup and a sandwich normally had vegan wraps let’s try there.

So we rolled into the store and Ella ordered and I went to find a table, now the tables in this chain are little square tables for two bolted to the floor and they cannot be pushed together, as I approached the two tables to my right had two Japanese mothers each with a child between 5 and 10 and at the end beside them was a third table empty but my chair wouldn’t fit in the corner.
I rolled up to the empty table and commanded Zeus to sit and drop and he went to sleep, and I waited for Ella and the meal. A third Japanese woman rushed up and shouted loudly, “YOU CAN’T SIT HERE WE HAVE CHILDREN YOU MUST LEAVE” Shocked I thought she was talking about Zeus, so I assured her he was trained and a service dog to which she replied “NO DOG YOU, YOU CAN’T SIT WITH CHILDREN” I realized what she was talking about and told her it was a public restaurant and the table was empty. She said THIS PLACE FOR CHILDREN YOU LEAVE, again I told her no and told her to eat and leave us alone. So suddenly all the adults ushered their children into the corner and the adults moved to form a wall between me and the kids.
I understand a bit of Japanese after 4 decades of judo, now I’m nowhere near fluent but I heard enough and what I did hear I understood “animal and pervert and disgusting” so I slowed down my eating. I enjoyed my lunch and even took a break in the middle. Let her choke on her bigotry, The funny thing is when I rolled up and checked out the scene I dismissed the japanese as no problem but was worried about the heavily tattooed group the other side but infact the tattooed group apologised to me and told her she was disgusting.
I had a wonderful rest of the day, beer with Aussies, chats with a beautiful man called Carlos who had become a dear friend and is the best restaurant manager in NYC and dinner with the beautiful marka Danielle her man and her son Tomas and my beautiful Ella. So to my bigoted Japanese friends the score is ippon to MIA wazari to the bigots sorry ippon wins the match.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

One thought on “Soup and a sandwich, “would you like hate and bigotry with that?””

Leave a Reply

