Oh come on your just whining the boat is fun, just because they’re not accessible?

Recently I joined a online Group called “Australian women in new york” It is basically a social group for ex patriots living in the big apple.
The group is very social they get together for drinks once a month and once a year evidently they have a harbor cruise, these booze cruises are on old boats although some are new and state of the art as high as 3 storeys but they are all stairs and not even the gang planks are accessible.
This is not my first rodeo with the NYC cruise boat industry, they have one of the worst records of human right violations against the disabled community.
2 years ago I rang this very same company and asked after informing them I am in a wheelchair and they responded by telling me I would still have to pay the full $100 but the tables are on the third level the bar and the music is on the second level there are no disabled toilets and the only toilets there are were o the second. I was told I would be carried on to the boat like a sack of wheat, then put back in my chair on the first level and hope there would be some nice person who remembered I was there and brought me back down food and drink and hope I didn’t need the bathroom during the four hour cruise but they did consider themselves disabled accessible?

Now fast forward to today Hoping something had changed I asked the group was the boat accessible? The reply came back “well you can get onto the first level but no worries come any way well work something out” so again I rang the boat company, again no toilets the food on the third drinks and dancing on second and me alone on first who’s on first was funnier when abbot and Costello did it in this case the punchline is a hungry lonely thirsty gimp with her legs crossed trying not to pee herself for four hours what not laughing? Maybe it’s the delivery.

So I politely posted,”I would love to come maybe next time when the venue is accessible”? The response was fast and furious “I was whining and pulling everyone down and if I chose to live my life angry I would only become sicker”.

I explained the boat industry in NYC has a bad record I was again told I was just a whiner and If I couldn’t just be the life of the party maybe I should leave the group?

When a bar serves under age drinkers we scream “ruining children close it down” when it is a blood factory with fights constantly we scream “someone is gong to get hurt close it down when they sell drugs they get raided and closed and rightfully so because they are breaking the law. Well to those who call it whining the boats bars venues shops government buildings are no less breaking the law and should be equally prosecuted because we are being abused we are having our rights stamped on so whats the difference? If you are a caring loving human why would you and your group want to financially support a venue with your booking that is in violation of federal law and abusing the rights of the disabled?

Let’s start a movement we don’t buy products from Africa and central America unless they are “free trade “which means a fare wage was paid for a fair days work by western standards and all human rights of the worker were respected, so why can’t we have a fair trade movement for businesses that abuse the disabled? If we hurt their back pocket maybe just maybe only the good will be left to do business.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

