Politically correct or throwing the proverbial baby out with the bath water?

Recently on this blog I have been called racist ,not for pulling a Paula deen or using the N word but simply for describing a horrible day at the doctors where I was actually victim of homo and trans phobia.

Yes my replies were in most part based in anger, anger coming from confusion.
I always believe that if say I approach a desk with 5 receptionists sitting and one is a horrible homphobe, and later I tell someone or blog about it do I not owe the four that were efficient and simply doing their jobs the decency of making it clear they were not involved?

So this practice had four people at the desk two were wonderful but the Latino lady was insulting as was the African American practice manager, if I simply said “Dr Morgans staff were horrible am I not doing the other two a great dis-service?

When I ran businesses and was trained in business practices I was told the reception is the first line of introduction ,If they are less than professional It can adversely affect any chance of closing a deal because people get the idea If I can’t choose professional staff and control them effectively how can I do good business with the person coming in?

To the point above, I have no problem what language you speak or how strong your accent is but only a poor business man would put someone totally not understandable on phones or front desk, and this was the case both with the Latino woman at the practice and the person using Ebonics calling from the medical referral center.
If you choose to make Ebonics the language you live with and use in day to day life 24/7 you need to find a job perhaps where others use it or customer contact is not the point of your employment.
These comments are not racist they are simply common sense.
Now someone told me the “mistakes were excusable they were only human”, yes perhaps at a hairdressers but when you build a practice around the treatment of the transgender community, doesn’t it behoove you to choose people who understand the specifics of dealing with the trans community and if they don’t but they have other skills that you can benefit from isn’t it your job to train them before they are put infront of clients?.

So when I arrive and my gender identity is disrespected constantly in a transgender medicine clinic, that would be as bad as a nurse in a cancer clinic teasing someone who lost their hair .

I am not a racist, I live my life by Buddhist principles to the best of my ability and have done for over two decades.To the point of my grammatical and writing and typing skills, by pointing out my disabilities I am not making excuses I am simply trying to make clear that sometimes simply hitting the right key is a grand achievement so to me the message is more important than how pretty it is presented.
Spamming me on outside blogs doesn’t hurt me it only shows your failings, we will never meet so if you continue to do so it doesn’t matter you are of no importance to my existence.
To those who follow me regularly, I apologize for the language I used the other day and to the levels the insults dragged me down to because of the hate mongering all comments and replies on the post in question were removed.

In my opinion people who read of horrendous treatment of the lgbtq and the disabled, and only see incorrect grammar or that in their opinion I didn’t research the etymology of a word is the very reason I have this blog. Society today would rather complain that we the disabled or socially different were not pretty, or we got in their way or our wheelchairs are a nuisance and until you see past the disability and the failings and listen to the cause no amount of legislation and Americans with disabilities act will change a damn thing. Thank you and be well.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

