“we think your vegan soy cheese needs flavor let’s add some milk”?

4D5796E3-D0DA-7AE8-497D-A165E9A0299B

As all my friends, family and readers know Ella and I are vegan, and we are devout vegans we wear no animal product we wear no animal based or tested on make up and we eat nothing that has ever lived or breathed what so ever to the best of our knowledge.
I am vegan for medical reasons first, but ethical reasons followed but if I consume small amounts of any animal product I can have anything from cramps to sweating and vomiting, and large amounts can kill me. My beautiful Ella, within a month of knowing me saw the compassion behind the life and has never broke from it in the 15 years we have been together, and we live great with a clear conciense and heart that knows no sentient being sufferred so we could live.

As a chef living the life is usually easy, I cook everything we eat even our bread and pasta and ketchup and condiments, jams jellies everything.
Things like cheese and meat replacements took research, many companies promote vegetarian loudly but read further and there is egg and dairy in the product.
Several months ago Ella and I were in trader joes Union Square late one night and the shelves were bare, a very overly friendly and eager store worker wanting to know if he could help, we told him we heard traders had a range of vegan cheese replacements to which he replied”we haven’t stocked the shelves yet let me check out back” he returned and showed us a pre grated mozzarella replacement and a block both had huge letters saying “SOY CHEESE REPLACEMENT” on the front so we thanked him after checking they were vegan he replied “their soy not dairy” so we went home and I had a small cheese sandwhich.
The next morning I had cramps and diahorea it coonfused me because all I had was my bread a vegan cheese and avocado butter. over the following months every time I ate it I had discomfort but never connected it. Well today we went in and we were not in a hurry and Ella read the label completely, and there in the excedingly small lettering was the words (contains milk solids)? WHAT THE F##K.

Why would you add dairy and milk solids, the very thing cheese is made from to a product to Meant to replace cheese? thats like making non alcoholic beer but adding 5.0 alcohol corona for flavor?.
we asked to speak to a manager, when we explained it was presented to us by a staff member as vegan and it was stocked in the vegan section between vegan burgers and vegan hotdogs he was non plussed.
I explained that if I had say eaten the whole 8oz block it could kill me, he simply replied”WHAT DO YOU WANT US TO DO? PERHAPS I CAN GET YOU A LIST OF OUR VEGAN PRODUCTS” AND HE POINTED TO THE VEGAN SECTION to which I replied “you mean the one with the milk cheese falsely advertised as a “SOY CHEESE REPLACEMENT”in it”? he shrugged and walked away.

CAVEAT EMPTOR my vegan brethren, there is a snake in our midst. They think our food is bland so they steal milk from baby animals and pass it off as soy.
We’ll be looking for new purveyors for our supplies please be weary of yours.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

