“Hey this is New York Toughen up”

When I roll through New York as most New Yorkers know It’s an extreme sport, groups with their collective heads in their electronic devices and in most cases their asses walk right into you.
They rarely apologise, and when they do its a grunt at best.
I have had teens and their parents yell at me to “get the fuck off their side walk with my gimp ass” I have had a couple in their fifties pull me out of an elevator that is there by law to aid the disabled first, telling me” I’ll beat your faggot gimp ass if you don’t gett off, we ain’t walking no stairs” I have been tipped out of my chair and robbed twice and so many more examples Of imposed arrogance by the abelist community most are documented on this very blog.

The problem That has me writing to you today is the lame response when I recall these events to friends and colleagues, it goes something like this

“THIS IS NEW YORK BABY IF YOU CAN’T TAKE THE HEAT A PLANE LEAVES FOR SOMEWHERE ELSE EVERY FEW MINUTES”

When the parisans riot and people get hurt no one blames the Eiffel tower, when the Brixton riots happenned in England in the middle of last century people realized it was unadulterated violence and no one blamed the tower of London.
When ignorance occurs it is the fault of the ignorant not the victim, when violence is perpetrated the judge doesn’t sentence the victim simply because they were there. When you are hatefull own it, and when you are homphobic claim it, when you have brought up your children to hate and to be indifferent to the disabled you’re the problem not the wheelchair and it’s occupant you as a family are attacking.

“THIS IS NEWYORK BABY GET USED TO IT” Is an excuse invented by the arrogant and the ignorant, in an attempt to cover up their hate and contempt for anyone who gets in their way.

Degrees of longtitude and latitude have no bearing on a persons ability for compassion, Only the degree of thought caring and an ability to considers someone else above them self matters.

If you can’t manifest for the short time it takes to allow me to pass you on the sidewalk or enter the subway enough compassion for me to do so safely, don’t blurt out some diatribe about it being New York try this
“MY NAME IS…. AND I AM AN UNCARING ASSHOLE”

‘THIS IS THE HUMAN RACE BABY IF YOU CAN’T TAKE IT THERE IS A ROCK WAITING FOR YOU SOMEWHERE TO CLIMB UNDER EVERY FEW MINUTES.

Caring is the only way, a few seconds thinking of others doesn’t lesson you as a human it builds you up stepping aside so I can roll doesn’t make you any less cool it makes you cooler it makes you human it makes you a decent memeber of the world village try it the rent is free and the view is amazing.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

