When did faggot become the go to put down?

When did calling people faggot become the solution to your embarrassment? When did it become ok to use disgusting hate speech when you’re confronted with the victims of your ignorance ?

How did we sink so low as a society that ” I’m sorry” has been replaced with ” fuck you faggot I don’t care if you’re disabled ill beat your ass?”
Today Ella and I went to manhattan to brunch with my beautiful friend Alice, our usual route is the 7 train to the q train to union square.
Well when you get to union square there is a small elevator no more than 6ft by 5 ft in diameter to take you to street level .
As I rolled up on it a heavy set Latino man was standing behind a stroller with a toddler in it and he was on his cell phone, Now I was sitting so close my arm was touching his stroller but the moment the elevator door opened he rushed in and pushed ” close door”. As I tried to follow the doors slammed my chair and Zeus, as I yelled ” hey open the door” he screamed an obscenity never hanging up the phone as the doors closed.
We waited a few minutes for the door to open when the elevator returned, when we got to street level he was six feet from the door I ignored him and went to leave. As I did he said into the phone ” here comes the whiny fucking faggot now” then he yelled “FUCK OFF FAGGOT”.
I had had enough, I said “you push me aside, take the elevator when there was room for me and instead of sorry you call me a faggot?” To which he replied “I don’t care if you’re disabled ill beat your faggot ass so fuck off” I’ll admit I lost it and replied ” you disgust me you act this way in front of a child threatening to beat a disabled person? you really set a good example”
He kept screaming he was going to beat my faggot ass. By this time Ella was emotionally upset and I had to roll away in front of a crowd being called a faggot being threatened with violence?

This is not a rarity people, violence against the lgbtq community is pandemic in New York, and crime against the disabled is so bad my dear friend jazz who is in a wheelchair was attacked and stabbed 48hours ago.
Are you proud of yourself America? Stabbing the disabled, threatening to beat another as you call them faggot, we whether gay straight, ableist or dis or otherwise abled humans deserve decency and humanity and respect for no other reason than we are here.

If you are some subspecies where only the fittest survive and hate speech replaces respect, go back to your tribe and climb back under your rock, because there is no place for you and your kind amongst decent people.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

