Why don’t you grow new legs so you can get out of my face?

After a horrifying afternoon of lying and abuse at the hands of Beth Israel’s union square MRI clinic, Ella and I had a wonderful lunch at new York café bought a few veggies at the farmers market and decided to catch the subway home. We caught the N at union square to Queens, it was crowded and I ended up facing the wrong way to get off when we got to our stop in queens. As the stop was approaching there was room beside me to turn my chair all but the last few inches, so I politely asked a student to step out for a second so I could turn, he smiled and said no problems.
All of a sudden a voice behind me yelled “why don’t you fucking wait till the train stops” I looked and a large Latino man standing in front of Ella’s seat owned the voice, he was nowhere near me or my chair and if I had turned would be nowhere near him.
I replied that it was impossible to wait because when the doors opened I would be pushed backwards he replied ”what do I care, you want me to care you’re in a chair I don’t give a fuck” the rhetoric went on and on laced with profanity then he blew my mind by saying very loudly “why don’t you just grow a fucking new set of legs and get the fuck out of my sight “ then he threatened to throw me on the rails when the doors opened.
He got closer as I turned, he threatened to beat me up he kept saying “you think I won’t jump all over a disabled person? You think I won’t pull you out of that chair? grow some fucking legs bitch.
This went on as we got off the train and he came as close as he could egging me on for a fight, screaming as he left what he would do and how he didn’t care I was disabled, and no there were no cops and no nobody helped except poor Ella who fearing for my safety threw herself between us he was at least 6 ft and at least 250 plus pounds.
What has happened to society that firstly someone grows up thinking that the wheelchair using community and the disabled of this world are fair game for violence and verbal abuse? and what amounts to threats of murder. Every year 140 something people are thrown onto railway tracks by strangers in NYC and of them at least 1/3 die.
Secondly that out of at least 200 commuters no one helps ?, This monster yelled out at least four times that he intended to throw me onto the tracks. Hollywood can’t write this they wouldn’t dare no one would believe it, yet I can swear on any holy book that this happens regularly to me and other dis and otherwise abled commuters on an all too regular basis. Anyway I’m home and I’m safe

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

