There are some weeks that just shouldn’t happen

There is an old joke that goes something like “there two times a year a married person smiles, their birthday and their anniversary” well in my life those two dates are 48 hours apart.
My Birthday Is April 15th and our anniversary is April 17th, so I awoke on my birthday knowing when Ella came home it would be aussie wine and great food prepared by her so I relaxed something of a rarity of late because of long running medical screw ups but hey it was my birthday so only happy thoughts.
Now I am a distance chair racer so I couldn’t wait for the Boston marathon to be shown that day, it was won in record time by the chair racer and by the abelists. Then came the stragglers I think it’s my duty to watch them struggle home so I was watching at 2.50pm when the first bomb went off and then seconds later the second.
I have no idea what was being said MY PTSD went through the roof, I was curled up on the sofa hugging the life out of Zeus .I managed to call Ella she had friends there so she was upset, she came home that night and we ate and had cupcakes with candles but there was a gorilla in the room we were both there at 9/11 we each knew what the other was thinking. I wrote a piece for the blog here is the Link below.
https://disabledaccessdenied.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/if-theres-another-911-please-take-my-family-back-to-australia-boston-marathon-bombing-and-my-thoughts-on-it/
Well Tuesday was a blank of constant nonstop coverage of where were they, who were they, how many were they? We went to bed early because there was nothing around but death and sensationalism. It had to be better tomorrow it was out anniversary, I awoke the next day as Ella left for work the room seemed blurry and heavy so I said bye she left and I slept. At about 10am I arose tried to rise for my chair and fell, tried to speak and couldn’t get words out. My bed was a huge puddle I was dripping and you could cook and egg on me my skin was burning so bad. I called Ella and told her she told me to take my temp it took me 10 minutes just to get 20 feet to the bathroom. My temperature was 101.7 I rang her and she came home there would be no celebration no couples funtonight and for the next 72 hours my body turned on me anything that could come out did every joint in my body answered roll call and my dreams couldn’t have been better on acid.
I vaguely remember every couple of hours having a thermometer put in my mouth then pills and water I found out the next day it almost hit 104 just before dawn. Ella had to go back to work Thursday but my temp stayed 100-101 all day and everything hurt.
Friday arrived and I felt like I had faced Jacky Chan and been beaten stupid somewhere in the night my temp finally dropped into the high nineties and I could see the light at the end of the tunnel.
Saturday I was temperature free and we talked about going out, when suddenly around lunch time I felt a feeling like bubble pop in my right temple and searing pain spread causing me to have to close my eyes, this started every hour then every 15 minutes then it became every 5 minutes the pain would last for 2 minutes then bang again all Saturday so I was layed up. Well as I write It’s still happening, a close friend who Is a doctor says their cluster headaches.
AAARRRGH isn’t there a law about how many things one person is allowed to suffer at any one time? I mean it’s called multiple disabilities not “fucking heaps”
Anyway I and the bubble wrap going off in my head say bye for now.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

