Hospitals screw up insurance and when you correct them you’re lying?

A part of everyday life of being disabled for most of us is regular hospitalization, and it’s hard enough being a patient when they take away your wheelchair insist you can only wheel when you’re being pushed and treat you like the gimp you’ve fought against being defined as all your life. But what should be the easy part is simply showing up? As most of my regular readers know I have a long history of repeated shoulder and rotator cuff injury, and finally this year surgery is planned to correct it.

Well my doctor this time is amazing, he is team doctor specializing in shoulder surgery for the likes of the New York Yankees baseball team and NFL team the giants and personal surgeon for Derek jeter. So he arranged an exploratory on april 18th to see what he’s dealing with and then the actual surgery about a week later.

He referred us to Beth Israel hospital on 16th and 1st in lower Manhattan, she who must be obeyed my darling Ella contacted the insurer Aetna and got approval, then she contacted Beth Israel and passed on the insurance approval and she repeated this with the anesthesiologist and gave Beth Israel all the details in triplicate and by the end of the day had approval from the hospital for a patient covered by Aetna insurance to be admitted on April 18th?

Easy enough right?? You wish, this morning Beth Israel’s insurance approval office called asking what I thought I would achieve telling them blue cross blue shield had approved it didn’t I think they would find out? This happened during my first coffee of the day so I had to ask for her to repeat it at that point she in an abusive manner told me she didn’t have to talk to a man making out to be his wife she would call back and talk to miarosa later?

Well after I thought I had her straightened out on my identity, I pointed out she made a mistake we were Aetna covered and never mentioned any other coverage then she called me a liar and said if I didn’t say it how did they get it? A million and one really nasty heckler lines popped into my head all at once, but I restrained myself I shouldn’t have because she upped the bitch mode and told me the procedure was cancelled and hung up?

I called back and asked for her supervisor I got an ex military woman who thankfully was all business but also polite, she checked and as it turns out some numb nuts indeed had heard Aetna and listed us as blue cross blue shield? I get that I hear the Greek alphabet all the time but think pretty blue crosses and shields don’t you?
So she said she would sort it out, then Ella gets a call and says it was nothing to do with blue cross blue shield from our doctor who told us miss super bitch 2013 had indeed rang them and it was about Aetna and we should call Aetna ?
Can you follow this wait, WHO’S ON FIRST?
So we ring Aetna and there is a problem with the hospital not us and it was never us, the procedure was approved when Ella was told it was, so there never was a problem was there?
There wasn’t, but the bitch calls me back and pulls the old principal of middle school line “I fixed it but don’t think you can play us like that or their will be no fixing next time”
so let’s sort this out

we are covered by Aetna and its ok?

No wait were covered by blue cross blue shield it’s not ok?

No wait were lying, blue cross blue shield is not ok and the procedure is off?

No wait It is Aetna but they listed it as blue cross but its ok?

No wait it was never anything to do with us it was a technicality about procedure location, we should never have been called?

No wait were still busted but were forgiven but don’t ever do it again and it’s still on?<

AAAH GLAD THAT WAS SORTED OUT AREN’T YOU?

And all of this before I am put in a bed too small, with no protection for my epilepsy in a non accessible room with no access to the bathroom and my service dog banned after you took my wheels away because even though I roll my whole life you think I am incapable of pushing my own chair because I am in hospital?

Wow so glad that the republicans think the system works and Obama care would make it worse because it can be worse can’t it????never

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

