You have wheels and legs do it yourself

For the last six months my friend wheelchair dancr and I have been meeting at a certain coffee shop on broadway and twelfth for breakfast regularly. The staff were mainly female and always offered to bring our orders to the table and we enjoyed the place immensely.

Today I arrived as usual at eight am and ordered my usual vegan everything bagel toasted with tofu cream cheese and sliced tomato and a quad espresso and rolled to a table. The guy who served me was new but the regular girls said hi and told me to grab a table. Fifteen minutes went past no order so I politely asked where my order was, I got told sarcastically” where I put it ten minutes ago” I asked where my food was he replied ” still growing” then he brought me the wrong coffee. I asked what it was he replied ” your coffee duh” I pointed out it was a coffee with cows milk that I would ever order he mumbled and walked away a manager arrived asked what the problem was? I told her his response was ” I had wheels and legs so I was doubly capable of helping myself. When I asked how he thought we pushed while holding hot coffee he replied” like that’s my problem” the manager shrugged and bought my order the coffee was cold the food was stale, so eight blocks up broadway at Argo tea the chai is hot the smiles pleasant and the sarcasm is non existent so bye bye bean.

20130405-092454.jpg

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

