How many orthopedic surgeons does it take to change a lightbulb?

In August of 2011 I saw supposed top flight NYC orthopedic surgeon, One dr pei. The reason for my visit was during a bus ride in Australia 6 months before I had been involved in auto accident and seriously dislocated both shoulders and I was living with excruciating pain to the point where it was almost impossible to push my wheelchair or achieve any other day to day tasks.

The High and mighty Dr Pei took a full MRI and looked at the pictures and said yes you have tears in the flesh inside both rotator cuffs but with normal walking around you’ll be fine ??But doctor I don’t walk I am In a wheelchair won’t pushing cause problem?
He looked at me in what can only be described as a condescending look and asked out loud ” who has the medical degree here?” and left the room.
The second ( I feel like I’m telling the story of the three pigs) didn’t have the time to take new MRI’s so even though since then I had taken on a level of sports training equal to an Olympian she looked at 18 month old film and said” cortisone you’ll be fine.
Finally through the conveniently timed hassle of Ella’s insurance suddenly changing from blue cross to Aetna and the old surgeon not taking Aetna we found doctor lublinear a sports medicine orthopedic surgeon he looked at the now 2 year old MRI and his first reply was “why cortisone , why didn’t the first doctor operate? did you refuse surgery? no doctor i was told I didn’t need it by both previous surgeons!
So now the Metaphoric lightbulb that is my shoulder got one cortisone injection 2 hours ago to help with the mind blowing pain but before we left his autographed lined office because he looks after everyone from Jeter to the new york jets Surgery was arranged.
Am I eager to go under the knife? hell no but with the alternative being a life less lived pushing my wheelchair in a circle because my left arm doesn’t work I say cut and to the first two docs go to hell.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

One thought on “How many orthopedic surgeons does it take to change a lightbulb?”

Leave a Reply

