The NYC Highline Gets Their Act Together Finally

Two weeks ago you could have found me on one of my favorite haunts The Highline park in Chelsea. I have haunted that place for the last 3 years and enjoy it’s tranquility. Being in a wheelchair has its limitations but none more than using public bathrooms, but up until that day The Highline had the cleanest in Manhattan.

This day however, when I rolled into the bathroom, the disabled toilet stall was padlocked with a professionally moulded plastic sign reading “PERMANENTLY OUT OF ORDER.” Crossing my legs metaphorically and dangerously close to  having an accident, but knowing the nearest other disabled facility was a block away and down 2 floors. So I asked the staff why it was permanantly closed and was told the following, “YOUR KIND DON’T COME UP HERE MUCH SO WE ARE NOT GOING TO BOTHER FIXING IT.” OUR KIND? I asked the woman should we also ride the back of the bus next? She replied you guessed it “I JUST WORK HERE.”

So I made it just in time to the Chelsea Market bathroom, then got a great coffee from Buone Italia and posted the experience.

MY dear friend Judith emailed The Highline telling them it was unacceptable, and she was sent a reply that The Highline was completely accessible and there was no problem with the bathrooms. Angrily I rang them and left a message stating it did happen, it happened to me.

Well surprise 3 days later I just got off the phone with the boss of The Highline, after she ate a healthy brunch of humble pie with a side of Mea culpa, I have been assured that the sign comes down immediately, the lock disappears and the plumber is on their way. Well you might say it’s only a toilet,  but hey you gotta pee, when you gotta pee and I can tell you The Highline would have accessed every grant they could find to build ADA complaint facilities.  Build it and they will come, so when they do it better be open for business or give the grant back.

2 thoughts on “The NYC Highline Gets Their Act Together Finally

  1. Yaaaaay! I am SO GLAD this got fixed!!! Thanks for always being an advocate for people with disabilities and making sure people do not get away with lies, pretty speeches and ignorance. this incident shows how collaboration can get to the bottom of problems.

    • We the human race draw electoral lines and define states, bigotry and ignorance see no division it is nation and globe wide. So we must blur the lines we must join together and form a network that crosses all man made boundaries, because the same people who drew the lines commit the bigotry the discrimination the homophobia.Even though I cant stand, through networking with hard working people like you I once again gain legs to stand for all and speak for those who can’t. namaste sister Judith

Leave a Reply

