Foot path =8ft wide wheelchair is 28 inches leaving 5ft 2 Inches to go around me?

Well today on the way to a emergency doctors appointment I was on 39th ave in Flushing I was 6 inches out from the wall ,with the 28 inch width of my chair =34 inches that leaves 5ft 2 inches of foot path to safely pass my wheelchair,  so at 12:25 a elderly chinese man swinging a 2ft sq suit case as he walked thought he would squeeze into the 6 inches instead of going around, the suitcase which turned out to be full and very heavy hit me in the face and the chest as he tried for the 6 inch gap,  I was knocked completely out of my wheelchair I landed on my back my chair rolled 4 ft until Ella caught it and the culprit kept running until the crowd stopped him ten feet up the path. With a swollen elbow and bruised back laying in the middle of the footpath he begged “no police, no authority, no tell no one pleeeease”several times he tried to walk away we called 911 at 12;30 they showed up 12;45 we were 3 buildings from the precinct they told us there was nothing they could do? Im tired of the attitude that Your already disabled what damage could he have done? they kept going on about the hours of paperwork, they never even got out of the police van, they never once looked at me or my chair.

Wake up America your getting fatter not thinner, when faced with the choice of a 6 inch gap or a 5ft 2inch foot path, be real choose the latter. My chair cost over $10,000 to replace with custom manufacture and shipping, if you break it you pay, same with me if I get injured you will pay, life is shitty enough in a wheelchair without fools adding to the pain, I’m home My elbow is throbbing like a biatch.

If you can’t do the simple math on the side walk, the bill on the  repair docket will really drive you crazy. I mean how hard is it to miss a 6ft4 285lb white person in a metallic purple wheelchair  in a sea of koreans in flushing queens? pay attention or pay,pay pay and then you’ll pay some more.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

