Wheelchairs Have Wheels Not Wings or Floaties!

The Sunshine Coast of Queensland is flooding as did other parts of Queensland before it. We are surrounded on 3 sides by rivers. All have broken their banks, you would think the emergency services would plan and prioritize the aged, the infirmed, those in wheelchairs first, then pregnant women, children and then the able bodied.  Sounds logical? Out of concern for the rising flood waters, alerts and continued heavy rains  we rang Nambour police station. 
It seems crime only happens mon-fri 9-5 here because the recording told me thats the hours? Call Maroochydore was the suggestion, so I did. They said “plan for the floods? Not our job. Call the hospital, your disabled your their problem.” The hospitals said ” be aware of local disabled needing help? Are you kidding. I’m not touching that paper work.” The suggestion, call the SES. The SES workers are overwhelmingly a volunteer service that fights bushfires, sandbag during floods and such. So I called them. They responded with ” make a list and prioritize? If we do that for you next everyone will want a list?”

So as I sit here my home is an island, my bags are packed, the rivers broken their banks and the train lines flooded. The Bruce Highway is flooded and cut off in various directions and I’m told” well its your own fault. If I was disabled I’d plan better dont blame us.”

I lived in New York when Katrina hit, the largest number of dead found in homes when the water went down were the disabled still in their wheelchairs. All it would take when this scare is over is to have a voluntary list at every hospital or a PSA on tv directing people to go online and register so that in time of disaster every service knows that someone in a given area is severly handicapped and needs help.

Anyway back to blowing up floaties and tying them to my chair.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

1 thought on “Wheelchairs Have Wheels Not Wings or Floaties!”

Leave a Reply

