The roll for the cure? From NYC to La In 90 days? No way that’s impossible they say! Here’s my answer

Whenever I train at the pool or on the road or when I’m climbing rock walls three times a week inevitably someone tells me I’m making it up it’s impossible no one can push a wheelchair all day every day from Nyc to La in 90 days IT’S IMPOSSIBLE THEY SAY.

www.therollforthecure.com

 

 They also told me epileptics can’t drive , they told me I can’t swim 2 miles every day they told me at school I should be in a mental institution because epilepsy is dangerous for everyone around me. Small people always tell big dreamers IT’S IMPOSSIBLE.

Well I found some pictures that explain why the little people with little minds are so wrong and here they are.

In acient greece a teacher took an ordinary man with an ordinary life  to the edge of the world, he told him “come close ,step to the edge and gaze over at al that is wonderful” the man said in fear “I dare not it is dangerous I may stumble and fall into the abyss” so he went away and led an ordinary life.

The teacher made the same offer to a man with wonder and vision and he stepped to the edge to gaze over and as he did the teacher pushed him and he flew!

You’re already dis or otherwise abled the world wants you to go away and lead an ordinary life, But I am living proof if you only roll to the edge and push yourself you really can fly and the view is wonderful.

When you land every day both physically and emotionally,  no matter what others do life has alread put we the disabled through hell and back. We know how to fight, we know how to win. The proof is us, were still here, and here is my mantra for being here tomorrow.

And when you are done go that extra mile, because you know everytime the disabled stop for even a moment there will be someone waiting to shout “see they thought they could do it they’re disabled they gave up it’s too much for them It’s Impossible”.

But the one thing we all have to remeber after all the prodding and proking and treatment and doctors and therapists, is that we are amazing, we are strong wonderful people who just because of some mistake of nature or accident or war are considered less than by society. Just merely by being here everyday we prove them wrong, so remeber next time someone says “hell you can you’re a gimp” rememeber the following.

A stranger on a train asked me where I was going one day, I told him I had just done two miles in a pool and was on the way to rockwall climbing. He stopped and  he thought for a moment and then  reached into his pocket and said “this is the name of my punk band but with wheels you do all that so I want you to have it. To me its just a name but you live it please never give up”. and I never have and never will.

2 thoughts on “The roll for the cure? From NYC to La In 90 days? No way that’s impossible they say! Here’s my answer

Leave a Reply

