Climbing out of the mist at Brooklyn Boulders

Had a great Saturday, awoke late had a leisurely espresso and  a vegan gourmet hot breakfast. Then we  got Zeus the service dog  in his vest and off we went to catch the 7 train to the Q and the Q to Atlantic pacific to go to Brooklyn boulders to climb unassisted on the self belayers on a wall called Brooklyn Bridge.

Zeus is getting better by the day and so much bigger. (See attached story)

http://disabledaccessdenied.wordpress.com/2012/10/20/zeus-is-on-the-honor-roll-hes-one-smart-service-dog/

We got to Brooklyn Bridge by 12 midday, when you are paraplegic or have a neurological disorder that inhibits your ability to feel stand and walk there are different degrees of disability from the very severe who feel nothing and can’t stand or walk or do many other bodily functions, all the way to a case like mine where I have feeling but my ability to stand is very limited and my ability to walk is almost non- existent and if I push it I have immediate seizures.

A friend of mine is a paraplegic and like many she has limb spasms, when we discussed how she dances she explained she controls her spasms  and times their release to work it into her dance. It got me thinking, when I climb I can take more risk and climb higher route numbers if I time how long I stand and limit it and how long I stand  and climb on before seizures start and it works.

I have about 3-5 seconds use of my legs and weight bearing before trouble hits, that’s 1 second to climb 2 seconds to rest and then climb on quickly .

My  new system took some trial and error but today I reached higher, I used my legs more and actually bared some weight but I did it within the times I worked out I could before seizure hits and it worked see below.

And I keep going to the top.

And finally I made it.

And once I got my timing worked out the sky was the limit.

and the day just kept getting better.

I now know how to climb every wall at BKB

One thought on “Climbing out of the mist at Brooklyn Boulders

  1. Pingback: Before Mia, You were learning to climb but today Mia you were a climber? | Disabled Access Denied ?

Leave a Reply

