Why do we feel the need to put people down?

When you call someone for a service, say doctor or therapist does their weight matter? Do you really care what their voice sounds like? How many times have you left hairdressers and said to someone “she looked like a dude or did you hear her voice?”  What the hell did it matter as long as your doctor is good, as long as your therapist gets to the root of your problem what does their voice their weight their gender identity or sexual preference matter?

I work tirelessly for the disabled community I write sometimes a dozen pieces to help fight discrimination a day yet as a transgender lesbian woman I will call someone for a phone conference and hear the pregnant pauses and the chuckles when I am introduced as a woman, I have even had so called caring counselors give me the card of vocal coaches so I could sound more feminine?

So someone who will tell you she cares about people that is why she got into counseling is uncomfortable talking advocacy  with me because  don’t sound female enough for them. What happened to the days when no one cared what you look like as long as you did your job no one care what you sounded like as long as you were a loving caring person?

 I am a disabled epileptic woman who will never walk again so I work for the rights of the disabled and abused and I work tirelessly I barely ever even remember eye color or skin color I remember the love but lately the hate has been hard to ignore I will keep working and rolling and Despite my best efforts the haters won’t stop either.

Next time you elbow your buddy and snigger as you call the teller ugly or the receptionist fat or the transgender person a freak think for a second it took 2 seconds to deal out the hate but the hurt can last for ever if that was your family member how would you feel?

I proudly work to spread the love are you proud of the hate you spread? God I hope not.

Leave a Reply

