Hey MTA if you change a train from a platform that is accessible to one that’s not how about telling the disabled!

Every time I rock wall climb I catch the 7 train from Main St., Flushing which has an elevator from the street level to the train. Then I get off at Queensboro Plaza  where I roll 20 feet straight across the platform straight onto the train. When I get to the Atlantic Pacific Station I get straight onto an elevator to the mezzanine then a second one to the street level. Well the ABC 7 news announced that for the next month from Friday night to Monday morning the 7 train would not go all the way into Manhattan, but would stop at Queensboro Plaza. I thought, no problem I only go that far to go climbing. They forgot to tell the public and especially the disabled public, that the rerouting of the trains meant they were no longer wheelchair accessible.  Even though I am a regular and all the Main St, Flushing station, the staff know me, no one gave us the heads up. Not only did the train terminate at Queensboro Plaza, but it stopped on a higher floor platform one level above my train that I need to go climbing.The platform we pulled up at had no elevators so me and every other wheelchair bound person would have to, like I did this morning, get out of their chair and crawl down over a 100 stairs on our asses while dragging our chairs behind us down the stairs. What amazes me is when you’re on a train they constantly bombard you with inane recordings that no one cares about but one really important one like “attention disabled persons disembarking at Queensboro Plaza, we apologize but the platform we will be stopping at is not accessible.” Is that too much to ask?

Since when is the price of a life of disability crawling on greasy spit (and god knows what else) covered metal plate stairs every time you catch a train? Put a little more thought into repairs next time MTA.

One thought on “Hey MTA if you change a train from a platform that is accessible to one that’s not how about telling the disabled!

  1. Pingback: “Nobody forced you to get on a train “ | Disabled Access Denied ?

Leave a Reply

