Service dogs sometimes can help just by giving love

Service dogs as a rule take a couple of years to be correctly trained and my baby boy zeus is no different that is if your talking about the over a hundred official duties he must master. There are however many wonderful curative things they can do naturally at least my Zeus can. Zeus is in training to be a seizure assistance dog and also to help with my PTSD and to make my life in a wheelchair easier. Zeus is six and a half months old and has been training for about six weeks, but two days after I got him when he weighed just eight pounds and was barely eight inches tall I went into full seizure but two seconds before he suddenly sniffed the air started a cacophony of puppy yapping and when I came too he was on my chest whimpering and licking my face . When I have nightmares from PTSD which is most nights,it is not uncommon to awake to find he has got on the bed and has snuggled next to me. When depression hits me and I retire to the sofa, he looks me in the eyes and crawls up beside me and as I come out of the depression I realize I have been stroking his fur for the last hour. So yes I can’t wait till Zeus has been fully trained but I won’t trade the naturally smart loving cuddle monster untrained pup I have right now for a million bucks. If he never did anything else but what he can do right now that would be good enough.As I write this I am getting over the flu and a seriously sprained ankle and he’s asleep on the sofa beside me. Zeus got his name from a loving huge bear of a Rottweiler we adopted in 1999 , he was the love of our lives and like me he was epileptic and he died suddenly from a seizure in2004. When I
Met this dog he made me think of my bear,so he too was named Zeus and on my worst days I think just maybe this pup is his reincarnation.The first Zeus saved our lives twice by pulling down a mugger,then got his reward with a belly rub.This Zeus saves me with his love every day.

Leave a Reply

