Commonwealth bank of Australia steals from the disabled and blames the computers

Back in Australia when I was in kindergarten the Commonwealth bank used to come once a week and your mum or dad would give you 50 cents or 1 dollar, and they would come into the classroom and teach you how to fill out deposit slips and you had your first bank account. The relationship with the Commonwealth started that way for me so that means I have been a customer for 50 years.

Back in those days if you had a mortgage or a credit card (when they started in the 70’s) if you couldn’t make the date they wanted you rang the bank manager, you knew him he was a pillar of the community and you told him you would be a couple of days late he said no worries mate get in when you can.

These days everything is blamed on a computer, when I went back to Australia in 2010 I opened a credit card and the bank manager Jodi told me “pay it when you get paid mate” so I got in the habit of twice a month paying what I could as long as it was more than the minimum some months I would get a pension on the 1st the 15th and the 29th so they would get three payments most months I cleared it back to zero. When I returned to the states they slashed my pension by 2/3 so I would pay $25 every pension check.

All of a sudden over $150 I late fees disappeared from my account, so I sat up till it was daylight in Australia and rang their excuse was even though in several months the required payment was only $25 I paid over $100 but they still fined me because the computer only recognizes it as an official payment if it is payed on the day they want? I rang and was told they were sorry it was their fault and they refunded the money, and they told me to pay on the 7th so I set it up. Then the fines started again I rang and they said well this month it wasn’t due on the 7th it was due on the 10th, so I payed they apologized they said go use the card so we did it was declined very embarrassingly at our favorite brunch spot.

I tried to transfer funds to my Atm account I was blocked, so I rang they said it was blocked until they received a payment? I told them you got one yesterday and another two days before.

He said I was being troublesome and he was busy and I was playing the poor disabled card? No I was playing the customer who could do basic math but out of $560 a month pension I was paying $100 then they were stealing $50 and blaming the computer. He raved on that he had more to do than talk to people who couldn’t manage an account, then finished with “is there anything else I can help you with”

Well commonwealth this aussie is cancelling her credit card and transferring her pension to an American bank ,so the answer is no there’s nothing any more you can do ever.

Leave a Reply

