What do you do if your paraplegic home alone and the door is locked and chained from the inside and you are seriously ill suddenly?

I am home this week sufferring, I have had upper body muscle spasms to the point where I have cried from the pain so I have been sleeping as long as possible and then just moving to the sofa for the day.  I have been in too much pain to do any sport so on top of the severe pain I have had cabin fever and severe depression as well.

Because of the very dangerous places in the world Ella and I have lived, our front door looks like a display panel for security locks and chains at home depot.

Every morning Ella makes me put all the locks and chains on before she leaves, and then I am in a 400 square ft studio with a fast growing Belgian shepherd and more locks than Houdini’s workshop.

Ella leaves between 6.30am and 7am every morning and travels from flushing to Manhattan and never gets home before 6.45 pm any night, in-between if I fall if I have wave seizures if like this week I am in agonizing pain or like suddenly this morning back spasms and stomach cramps I am on my own.

I looked at the front door a few minutes ago and I saw 2 dead locks the front door lock and the chain lock all on, and Zeus hasn’t mastered the door opening training yet so it occurred to me if I had to call for help how the hell would they get in. When I am sick my wheelchair is parked across the room, when I am feeling good I sit up hop from the sofa to the coffee table the coffee table to the wheelchair but if I am sick enough I need an ambulance the doors are locked I can’t get to it without wheelchair what do I do?

Here I am an advocate for you all but who do I call my octogenarian father in-law 15 minutes away?

I am feeling better now at least in the stomach department, the back spasms are another matter but if someone as well organized as me can be caught in this dangerous situation my concern is for you the reader. Do you have a safety plan? A back up, someone to call to help in an emergency? If your answer is no that has to change.

 Let’s start today together make a map of your house and your apartment building, let a neighbor you trust know your home alone and disabled.

We check on our elderly neighbors we help out through our church or our wounded warriors group, but have you told the people you help that one day you might need theirs?

2 thoughts on “What do you do if your paraplegic home alone and the door is locked and chained from the inside and you are seriously ill suddenly?

  1. Oh, goodness, Mia! This is such an important subject. My mother who had diabetes was home alone when my father fell ill with a gastro aneurysm. The front door was locked and she, having already lost half her foot to gangrene, had to crawl to the window to throw keys out a window, or the firefighters would have had to break windows and the door to get the paramedics to him.

    I know you have put this on my Wall, but I will share on the Foodie4Access FB Wall as well.

Leave a Reply

