Attention hairdressers I’m disabled ,No I can’t sit up no I can’t move my legs over no I can’t stand and walk over to the sink

Were disabled not dead, were women and  we like to look nice we like nice nails and having legs and eyebrows  waxed,and we enjoy hair styling like everyone else.This seems out of bounds if you’re disbled, because salons and businesses providing these services seem to be screaming ACCESS DENIED.

The hair salons either have designs  with stairs at the front door, or once you’re in the shop the hair cutting mirrors are down stairs and the washing sinks are upstairs and the waxing rooms are on another level. The rare few times you find a shop all on one level that isn’t up a flight of stairs, you still can’t win, because the people who work there are on all different levels. I recently went to have my eyebrows waxed at an upper west side manhattan salon, they saw me roll on in with wheels under my ass, and I asked was the waxing on this floor they said yes so I paid and they asked me to “stand up and go sit in their chair”.

I slapped my wheels and said sorry move your chair I  bring  my own trying to lighten the situation, and you would have thought I asked them to knock out a wall. They talked in Korean for five minutes and then decided they couldn’t move the chair so I had my eyebrows done at the reception desk?

I have been to hairdressers where after spending 3o minutes having my hair cut and discussing disabled life with my cutter, the next thing out of their mouths was “ok darling jump up  and walk over to the sink well shampoo you”. When this happenned  I looked with astonishment and she took five minutes to wrap her brain around why I couldn’t.

 Pedicure salons have these large molded fiberglass thrones with the water tub molded into the bottom, I asked why can’t I just sit in my chair in front of it and you sit the other way around my feet still reach the tub ? waxers knowing  that they’re waxing a paraplegic will still say “this is going to hurt”

Let’s have some education after all you’re called a service industry, so if you’re treating me like I’m stupid not disabled if you can’t wrap your brain around the fact I have wheels under my ass and know what that means  you’re of no service to me.

Before someone answers me saying “well some people use wheelchairs for a few weeks and can stand and do have feeling” that too should be part of the education, the difference between the kind of custom made chairs for permanently disabled and the cheap plastic chairs used by people with minor injuries.

We deal with depression and other diagnosis every day because of our disabilities, all were asking is the right to be pampered occasionally.

One thought on “Attention hairdressers I’m disabled ,No I can’t sit up no I can’t move my legs over no I can’t stand and walk over to the sink

  1. Wow I just read your article. I am very sorry to hear this. I have been a stylist for six years now and understand how uncomfortable those people may have made you feel!
    I have a nursing background and have always had a passion for hair. I decided to put the two together and start up a mobile hair business. If you are ever interested I am located in downtown Toronto and would be happy to help you with any styling needs :)
    brittney_banks@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

