September 10th is world suicide prevention day what will you do

World suicide prevention day? Wow what has happened to our world that we have to organize helping one another? We have to tap the global village on the shoulder and scream HE’S HURTING STEP UP AND CARE!  What happened to real teachers, priests actually tending their flock (I mean the good ones who do t with their clothes on) and doctors who notice when the person comes for a checkup that they show symptoms of depression.

The Hippocratic Oath says FIRST DO NO HARM, I am starting to think we should ditch the pledge of allegiance and write a new one it would go something like this

 

I (insert name) do solemnly swear that each and every day I will care I will worry I will come along side my fellow citizen in a compassionate empathetic way.

Their pain is my responsibility I will not always be able to help them personally

But I swear to stay with them until they get the help they need.

I will not phone in my responsibilities as a parent I will with love each day be a caring part of my Childs life.

I swear as a teacher I will not show up for the pay check but come with joy for the empowerment and progress of my charges.

I swear as a doctor I will care more about a patients time on earth than their time in my office expiring.

I swear to carry my love for my fellow man with me where ever I may travel in my journey and always have enough to share and give out to those who have never known love in their own walk.

I do this with joy and promise to take as much joy in the wellness of everyone who crosses my path as I do the wellness of my own life with the goal of lifting them up to the joy life can be.

This of course will never happen because  evangelical Christians will say if you were saved god would protect you, Catholics will tell you suicide is a sin and if you do die they will punish your family by refusing you the last rights or the chance to be interred in a catholic cemetery.

The government would say it’s not their job to fund what should be a parent’s job, And every other religion on earth will equally punish but never help you. With all the condemnation and wiping of their hands of those with suicidal thoughts one would think that groups like the TREVOR PROJECT would be ignored and shunned but you see they know their fighting a fight no one else wants so they fight with everything they have and thankfully these days the internet is their ally and Hollywood has got on board.

I could write a blog post longer than war and peace on the pathetic reaction of the modern world to one of the most dangerous problems in their midst, but I would just be added to that list of people being told “it’s none of their business it’s a private family matter” so I’ll close with this did you have your children for the baby shower gifts or do you actually care did you become a teacher or a doctor for the parking spot or for the good you can do? Make up your mind and if your answer is because your care,It’s time to  damn well step up and prove it, were losing our future our most valuable commodity our children and those we love.

Teen suicide gets a lot of press but our heroes our wounded warriors after coming home alive are killing themselves at the rate of 18-20 a day, women with post partum depression are also seeing suicide as a choice it is never the right choice.

We call ourselves the greatest nation on earth Australia calls itself the lucky country lets lose the tourist tags  and start calling ourselves a caring global village  September 10th is a day to remind you so let’s start there and carry it for the rest of the year.

Leave a Reply

