Zeus the service dog puppy passes his first major street test in spades!

The goal today with Zeus was to take him training with me. That would involve him walking on a hands free thigh leash (a strap around my thigh has a short leash attached leaving me hands free to push my wheelchair) and teaching him to stop at every corner and immediately sit. He would also learn to walk at the same speed as my chair and get used of the wheels and not get under the wheels endangering him and me.

He also would have to learn to ignore other dogs, squirrels cats children and traffic noises and other distractions. Along the way He would have to enter places of business and behave quietly and make no noise and not defecate or urinate and move slowly around people so as to not scare anyone.

Well we left home he walked well on the leash only getting in the way of the wheels twice.

by the fourth corner he was sitting without being told, and when we went first to a bodega and secondly to out Sikh grocer he was not only well behaved he earned fans with the store holders of the Sikh store where we are regulars.

He ran when I sped up and  he was slow when I was cautiousand when the leash section was finished and Ella was walking him he would not let her get more than 6 feet in front or behind without stopping and waiting for me.

When we got to the park there were Canadian geese, turtles ducks other dogs and families with screaming babies and he ignored them all he passed in spades. We gave him water from a coffee cup and  he drank from it quietly, he layed down in the shade with his back against my chair and the moment I began to move he was up in the sit position.

The only drawback was everyone wanted to meet him, he became the star of the park I pointed out that they couldn’t pat him but they stood and were in awe and called their children over for a teaching moment. When they found out he was a rescue they loved him more, we rewarded him with some play in the water feature.

On the way home it suddenly jumped in heat and was almost 100 degrees so we sought refuge in john and johns bar for lunch.

There was a poker tournament in progress, and a juke box blaring, and the bar was lively and he was a well behaved poster child for the perfect service dog.

I have been teaching  him while he is little, to jump on to my lap while I push up the ramp at the rear of my building and when I showed the bar he could do it he was an old pro and made me proud.

We were there an hour until we all cooled down, and when we left he was like he had been doing it for years as if he was fully trained.

I think I have a winner folks until next time see ya and who knows by then he may be typing?

6 thoughts on “Zeus the service dog puppy passes his first major street test in spades!

  1. Wow, that’s a lot to ask of the little guy and he did so well! I’m so glad he’s such a wonder dog for you. I have to assume he’s the second smartest service dog in the world becuase I’m quite biased about my Merlin :)

  2. I am so happy and excited for the two of you! What a pair you make! Zeus is definitely a winner and I hope you both have a great time. Will he accompany you on the rollathon?

Leave a Reply

