Hurricane Irene destroyed my area of flushing, it has taken a year of politicians lying but today I won, road crews are rebuilding year old street damage

When hurricane Irene the little hurricane that could hit newyork last year, I was up without sleep for 48 hours receiving emails and calls from the disabled In newyork who were illegally being turned away from rescue centers because government employees were too lazy to help the disabled through the door.

http://disabledaccessdenied.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/nyc-evacuation-shelters-take-all-unless-their-in-wheelchairs/

so between Christine Quinn’s office and myself I would receive the calls pass them on Christine’s people would send help and get them to a safe place.

http://disabledaccessdenied.wordpress.com/2011/08/27/christine-quinn-the-rockstar-of-the-new-york-city-council-the-disabled-tell-her-its-broken-she-gets-it-fixed/

When the weather cleared and the winds died down the destruction in most of newyork was light, but in flushing queens just in the 12 blocks from my house to Kissena park there were 58 major dangerous cases of infrastructure damage. The worse being a 8 by 10 ft wide 6 foot deep hole where a 100year old tree was torn from the side walk by its roots by gale force winds.

I contacted Michaela miller of Christine Quinn’s office and she advised me film it video it photograph it make a map with nearest cross streets and she would call peter koo the local queens councilman, evidently she knew someone in his office and to paraphrase a red neck comic “we’d get er done”.

I took all the videos and pics and grid referenced the damage overlaid to a street map and put it all on memory stick and after a meeting with councilman’s personal assistant and a certain Jim McClelland his officer for public works I was told in august last year work was starting while we sat there talking and would be fixed in two weeks.

Three months later no work so I rang councilman koo as I was sitting next to the biggest hole and was outright lied to, I was sitting next to the huge hole on the cell phone being told the huge hole had been repaired a month ago! I called their lie took a instagram pic and sent it to them time stamped and they said I was just being difficult

I told them it had to be fixed before first snow because if that hole was covered by snow someone would fall in and die. Councilman Koo responded by mowing 6 feet of over grown grass at a bus stop and then emailing me saying “there all work done”

Out of 58 sites severely damaged he chose an over grown side walk and was so proud he mowed it stopped short barely of calling a press conference.

I kept up my pressure getting Michaela miller to call them every couple of weeks and when I called they spoke in Korean and made out they didn’t understand. Well finally today after spending the last 6 weeks tearing them a new one weekly finally a win for www.disabledaccesdenied.com   As the picture before and after show, the streets are finally safe for the disabled and as an added bonus one errant land owner who refused vehemently to fix his destroyed driveway for years a driveway that has personally tipped me out of my chair at least twice had it repaired by the city whether he liked it or not.

 So Oak ave flushing New York Has gone overnight from a apocalyptic scene straight out of a Sci-Fi war movie, to once again a safe thoroughfare for all from toddler to elderly pregnant to disabled.

You were warned mr Koo I NEVER GIVE UP you didn’t listen when I told you

Respect our existence or expect our resistance

You didn’t listen and you got resistance in spades, and if it happens again I have your number So I will hit you hard again.

Our safety as a community is not for sale,It is not to be put on the shelf till election year if it’s broke you will fixit it and fix it fast.

Leave a Reply

