Hey MTA I’m trying to live my life and not fixing elevators doesn’t make it easy!

It’s morning that means either road work in my chair or swimming or both. It’s Thursday, that means 1 mile to the subway then one elevator down to the seven train catch it to queens borough plaza, then roll across the platform to the N or Q train>  The N or Q will take 30 minutes to  arrive at Atlantic pacific I then have two elevators to get to street level roll 7 blocks and then  I get to enjoy three hours of Rockwall climbing then at 9 pm do it all in reverse to get home.

That’s if the Newyork metropolitan transport authority could actually run an orgy in a brothel let alone a metropolitan train system. I can get down to the seven train about 50 feet below ground, I can get to the N or the Q and I can get to the Atlantic pacific but I can’t get from the platform to the second elevator without once again leaving my dignity at the train door and crawling 50 feet up stairs while dragging a service dog and a wheel chair and a bag full of climbing gear all the way to the top. After the ehaustion and humiliation of all that I then climb back in my chair. All the while disgruntled commuters steppping over my crawling form give me filthy looks instead of considering for one moment that they might actually help.

I do my best to be as healthy as possible despite my disability, no wait I do my best and that of 6 ordinary people and I love the feeling of hard work and achieving a new fitness goal. I don’t take one cent from the city or the state not welfare, not Medicaid or Medicare or food stamps or access a ride. But my beloved pays tax in a high bracket and works bloody hard and I pay taxes on all I earn, I don’t want much I just want the bloody accessible elevators to work Mr. Bloomberg is that too much for you to handle? If it is Christine Quinn assures me when she gets elected it’s a top priority, but why should I have to wait for he to be elected to have a life?

This is a problem globally, I get e-mails and texts from dozens of countries and I try to advise those people on how to effect change in their community but New York If you care about your fellow citizens prove it. Write your congressman, write your senator or your council person and tell them you demand New York be accessible.

It always amazes me that they call exclusion from compliance a grandfather clause, because the New York I live in isn’t even safe for grandpa!

Leave a Reply

