Zeus the Service Dog 5 Months Old & Learning

When we got Zeus he was underweight having just survived Giardea and hook worm.

He had no manners. He wasn’t house trained and he had never been taught a simple command. Zeus turned 5 months old on the 24th of July. He arrived at my house on the 15th eventually the goal is to train him to assist me during and post epileptic seizure.

Seizures- On the 17th and 18th of July I had a total of 3 seizures and according to my spouse seconds before I went into full seizure his head shot up, he ran across the room and was on my lap and next to me. I awoke to Zeus on my lap whimpering and licking my face.

Commands-  He now knows his new name, he comes 8 out 10 times when called and is learning “no.” Zeus is also starting to sit when I stop my wheelchair at the corner.

Yesterday when we had to go up a dangerous ramp I clicked my fingers, he jumped into my lap and sat quietly while I pushed tentively up the antiquated relic that passes for access in my building.

Cats- when he arrived, the largest cat, our 24lb monolith Patches took an immediate dislike. Things still are not perfect but I caught them sitting a foot apart without a fight yesterday and our 5 year old Belle Starr and Siamese Khe Sahn ignore him so we have relative peace. We can work from there.

Zeus’s Growth- when Zeus arrived he was at least 10-12lbs underweight. The internet says he should weigh 35lbs by now. He has a long way to go but he has a little padding between the ribs and the fur at this point and is looking healthier. I am feeding him a mix of pasta, brown rice, puppy biscuits and gourmet puppy food and our leftovers and he is fed twice a day.

Behavior in Public- Last Saturday he travelled in a town car quietly and spent all day at outward bound sitting quietly.

Then traveled home on the 7 train without a sound.

Zeus is not aggressive. He walked home beside my chair slowly and would not leave my side.

Well the little chew monster is asleep on my feet, so until next update I am off to teach him that my foot doesn’t squeak if he nips it!

Leave a Reply

