People quite often ask when depression hits or society puts you down where do you go? I go up

No matter how long you have been dis- or otherwise abled,  and no matter how comfortable you think you are in your own skin we all still have “why me days”  she who must be obeyed calls mine my “MIA” days. The first response most have is to crawl back into a bed or onto a sofa and turn off the world, I know I have worn out three sofas and two beds in 7 years. Till 4 months ago when I re-discovered climbing after a 20 year absence.

Yesterday I was attacked by a homophobic woman hating bigot, I fought like a dingo that didn’t want to drop the baby but eventually the hate speech he spewed had me in a deep dark hole. You now the old maxim, if enough people are saying it maybe it’s true. I know I’m none of those things but my day became a dark place.

At the worst of it I found myself working out how many days till I could climb, so that when I was at the top of a wall I could scream inside myself “hey pig can you do this?”

The picture below is of me looking up 5 stories almost 6 to the top of outward bound NYC’S outdoor wall.

The next photo is of me starting  I never made the top of that wall that day but the joy is in the journey not the destination.

but that doesn’t mean sometime soon you won’t see a pic of me at the top of the monster pictured below.

You can tear us down one hate speech filled vomitus blast at a time, but when you crawl under your rock I climb it and the other 30ft of rocks on top of it. So I will still have my “Mia” days but hopefully have more spent on top of the world literally on top.

5 thoughts on “People quite often ask when depression hits or society puts you down where do you go? I go up

Leave a Reply

