Zeus the service dog started training today follow his growth and training

Day 1- 15th July 2013 Zeus comes home for good

Zeus and I first met through Lil Monsters rescue at an adoption fair at the gay pride march June 24th.

 I had been looking for an appropriate breed to be trained privately then pass his exams to be my service dog for my PTSD, EPILEPSY and assistance day to day for me in my wheelchair.

Zeus when I met him was a 4 month old long haired German shepherd crossed with a rough coated collie(9/10ths german shepherd) who had been rescued along with his litter mates from a bad situation in Georgia and transported North to NYC.

 It was love at first site, from my years of experience as a dog trainer I knew what tests to do on a pup to asses suitability and he passed them all in flying colors.

 The following day was a Monday and I called and told them I definitely wanted him, they said to fill out the adoption form online so I did.

He was meant to come for a visit that week but it was 100 degrees all week so out of concern for him being in a hot car I asked them to put it off for a week and they agreed.

The heat kept up for two more weeks, and just last week he came to visit for a day and we fell in love.

 In one hour he learned his new name “Zeus” before it was some unpronounceable name he refused to answer to. He learned come,and  he learned sit all in four hours. I was in love.

 But he had some worm problems and couldn’t keep weight on, so he had to go live at the vets for a few days.

After many phone calls and much worrying, it was discovered he wasn’t responding because they thought he had a tape worm. He in fact had that and two other types, so after some concern he was sent home with medicine to gain back his weight.

 Well today he arrived,

 He was much skinnier but we have meds, we have food and we have treats and within one hour he learned NO.  Zeus comes to his name, and he sits and drops three times out of four. I told you he was a bloody genius, not bad for one day.

 Well he just ate the best healthiest puppy food and biscuits money could buy for him, with his meds cleverly hidden.  I had been using pasta as training treats so he had eaten half a bowl of that as well, so now the end of the first day and almost 5 months old Zeus knows the following.

1/ his new name

2/ no (well most of the time)

3/ come

4/sit (again most of the time)

5 drop (same as above)

So to the money hungry purebred kennel from upstate new York who wanted 35-45,000 dollars for a 2 year old German shepherd, that money will start construction on my disabled and otherwise abled climbing ranch and bed and breakfast in Nevada called “BILLABONG DOWNS”.  I’ll do this my way, I was sent the ten page 2 year curriculum he must not only learn  but master and if today’s work is any example he will rock it in. So keep watching for monthly progress (who am I kidding? he is so cute it will be hard to only do it weekly) and please share your pics and stories of your service animal with me

5 thoughts on “Zeus the service dog started training today follow his growth and training

  1. Hi, I appreciate it alot for your website, I really think it is genuinely inspiring and if truth be told, an eye opener, I truly love the knowledge that you bring into building websites, I have got a pitbull puppy and I have being seeking for resources like this one. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

