Let’s tap Tapfish on the shoulder and tell them they are not gods they cannot discriminate against the disabled

Today I was on my blog and I noticed a comment on a story about romney’s famous school bullying episode,  so I opened the comment and the below is that comment. 

 A disabled senior woman who for entertainment and brain exercise plays the popular online app “Tap fish”.

 And she simply in her intro to other players told them she was disabled, and she explained her disability caused typo’s. What ensued was her being ridiculed, abused and called a troll and other disgusting names that denigrate the disabled.

 Enough was enough, she brought it to the attention of the moderators and they told her to stop whining and stop playing the disabled card They wouldn’t tolerate it.

 She put up her intro but it was taken down and any reference to disabled or disability was removed and it was reposted all nice and cleaned up with no reference to her disabilities?after many back and forth emails the moderator told her “she wasn’t covered by hate laws or the Americans with disabilities act because she was a private person?

 well I have  got news for her, the ADA covers all and she is breaking federal law by her actions. 

 We need all who read this to let tapfish know their bigotry and disabled discrimination will not and cannot be tolerated and we will not.

 If you play the game quit, and tell them why you are quitting. If we don’t sit together they will walk over us.

Kathryn asked why and she was told people playing the sympathy card would not be tolerated ? Sympathy card? they would not dare speak to a person of color that way, they would not have the chutzpah to remove reference of color so damn well leave the disabled alone.

Below is her story in her words, I have deliberately left the typo’s in so you can see what she was politely trying to explain to the other players.   

 Accused of playing the disability card

4:46 PM (2 hours ago)

Hi, Mia? So, where do I begin? Who am I? I am a 69 year old disabled woman, but before I was 69, I was 39, and I was not disabled. I did know what disabled meant, though, because on my first job, in Beverly, MA, I worked for Wilkscraft printing, who also employed a man who was deaf as their dark room/stripper. I learned, early on, that PWDs can do some things but not other things, and be valuable employees if given the correct job.

In June ’81, I recieved a tainted blood transfusion, not HIV but HVC, and by August was stricken with a host of what my Doctor called “weird” symptoms. I was tested for HIV twice, but no one then knew about HCV EXCEPT the US Congress and the American Red Cross. For the next 17 years I was constantly accused of being lazy and crazy, and I am still sensitive to that. Then, when I was finally dxed, I applied for SSI and was later informed that I was the guickest in MA to ever be approved. But there were other disabilituies to be discoversd, which include cervical and spinal radiculituis, Iritis,  and osteoarthritis all over, to name a few. I have a wonderful service dog, Shannon, a purebred siberian husky, who helps me with my locomotion, which I have to say she helps me walk and with my balance. LOL

So, what is going on now? My son gave me a new mobile phone, a beauty, a Samsung Galaxy S2. I downloaded Tapfish and two other games which my disabilities prevernt me from playing. Clumbsy fingets, etc. Damn, the radiculitis makes me feel like my arms and legs are brogen, and the osteoarthrits and irits combine to make it nigh imposible to hit what I am aiming at. pluss, profound fatigue, I just give up.

So, Tapfis is an interesting game, so I joined an on line (according to Posner’s ruling) public accomodation, Android Tapfishers Forum. In the intro I said please overlook my bad typos due to my disabilities. (Another man joind later and wriote he had arthritis.) After a while, one member started to ‘attack’ my comments, demanding I explain why I was being ‘incnsistant’ and ‘misinforming’ the members of the forum, and not to blame it on my disability, as my disability had nothing whatsoever to do with my ability to comment.

Huh?

Now, my take on this is, if someone told a wheelchair used that s/he had to follow the rules and enter the building by going up the stairs like everyone else, most folks would understand that is wrong, but when I comp;lained about missys rude, abusive and uninformed comment, AND that I had asked her repetedly to stop, he accused me of playing the disability card. Hiowever, while he did not stop the abuse, he said he didnt find anything wrong with my comments. The mods on that site dealt with thios by punishing the whole community when anyone failed to obserye the rules, closed some threads and removed others for OT comments.

Woah!

Talk about an overreaction. So, he and I had quite a few email exchanges. I toled him about the recent Ist Circuit Court of Appeals ruling, explaind to him he might be a privately run one line foru, but the ruling meant it was a public accomodation and he should be willingto provide REASONABLE accomodation.

Meanwhile, back at the forum, the bullies who had piled on missys abuse of me, created a new Tapfishers forum, and made an announcement that folks were free to leave the 1st forum.  Because they didnt like the nice mods no longer  allowing them to bully the disabled!

Yep, I signed up for the new forum, and in the introductions…..well reasd this, you will get the idea….

Quote message

“Re-Introductions”

Sent: Tue Jul 10, 2012 12:39 pm

From: Kaitrin

To: Red Hare 

Hi Red Hare:

I just wanted to let you know that your “reintroduction” post has been edited because, while we empathize with the difficulties your disabilities cause, we do not feel it is necessary to point them out on this forum as having these disabilities should not in any way affect your ability to use this forum. There are several tools that exist to help people with disabilities function effectively on the computer:

Computers come with “accessibility settings” that address a variety of issues

Internet browsers like Firefox and Chrome include auto spell-check options to catch obvious typos

Screen-readers are available for the visually impaired

“Speech to Text” tools are available for those who have difficulties keyboarding

We will not tolerate members trying to make themselves out as deserving of any special consideration when it comes to behavior.

Thanks for your understanding!~Kaitrin

Kaitrin

Site Admin

Quote Red Hare

Re: “Re-Introductions”

Sent: Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:34 pm

by Red Hare

Katrin, could you please send me a copy of my original post, the one you are referring to, that has been edited?

thank you, Kathy

…………………………………………

For whatever reason, I just really really do not want to let this one go.

………………………………………

Please note, I have re edited my introduction, but await a copy of my priginal intro:

Re-introductions

 

Here is the intro by the admin

by Kaitrin » Sat Jul 07, 2012 9:35 pm

I’m Kaitrin  in my early forties, married with two teenagers, female, and live in Minnesota in the US. I’m a historian by profession

I’ve been playing Tapfish on the Android since October 2011, and on iOS since December 2011. I’m a bit of a techie as a hobby, and love poking around to figure out how things work.

I’m also the admin of this board, so if there are features you’d like to see, let me know!

Kaitrin

Site Admin

Location: Minnesota

Tapfish Name: Kaitrin (Android); Kaitrin2 (iOS)

by Marximus1 » Mon Jul 09, 2012 2:12 pm

Marximus is here. Favorite fish: goat

Playing for 6 months now on Android. Level 74 at the moment.

Looking forward to watching the other forum fizzle…along with it’s resident Troll.

Report this post

Reply with quote

Re: Re-introductions

by Kstatemom » Mon Jul 09, 2012 8:49 pm

Okay I’m really in the dark.  Mambo sent me a pm about the problems so I guess I’m glad I was on vacation. Anyways I’m 61 live in Kansas and have 5 children. The 4 oldest are Kansas State University alumis and the youngest is a student there hence the name. We have 2 dogs and a cat and 2 grandchildren. I’ve been playing tapfish since last June.

MIA’S NOTES- This shows that there was an environment of messages being sent about her disabilities and the problems just as the last message referred  to her as a troll

Kstatemom

Below is kathy’s intro completely innocent and no whining about her disability

Re: Re-introductions

by Red Hare » Mon Jul 09, 2012 9:35 pm

Hi I am Kathy, aka Red Hare. I am 69 and currently an Advocate for people with disabilities. 

 

My son gave me a samsung S2 for Christmas, in January? or Feb, and I have been playing Tapfish since mid March. I really like it. I am on level 68? and have 48 tanks, which I like to name some of them. Favorite fish, stunt dolphins. Today’s favorite tank, KeyLargo (48).

 

My partner, a service animal, Shannon, a siberian husky andI care for my son’s dog, Sandy, a rescue from Tiajuana Mexico. Sandy is the one with red hare. I signed on to Tapfishers because while we can have neighbours on Tapfish, we can not chat with each other, and am hoping to meet folks with the same interest in Tapfish.

Last edited by Red Hare on Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Red Hare

 

Posts: 3

Tapfish Name: Red Hare

Timezone: Eastern Standard Time

Re: Re-introductions

by seandicare » Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:59 pm

my names dominic i’m 38 male from upstate NY.

 

i’ve been playing tapfish since around Oct ’11.

i like it, but kinda think i’m getting burnt out from all the events. may need to take a breather.

lol

seandicare

 Private message

by beebee » Tue Jul 10, 2012 7:34 am

Re: Re-introductions

by BoXaToYs » Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:18 am

All righty I’m here too now. My name is Chris, I too live in upstate NY, I’m in my upper 30′s w/ two kids. Been playing this thing for 15 months and I also play Tap Ranch, Tiny Tower and Pocket Frogs under the same name.

 

I’ve been in the dark on the issue(s) on the other forum. I was shocked to see the sticky posted by the forum admin last week. Can someone enlighten me via a PM?

BoXaToYs

MIA’S THOUGHTS- Obviously this person thought the admin was out of line

by WebfootWiz » Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:27 am

I’m a relative Tapfish newbie. I just discovered the game during the Hero/Villain event when I was trying to see what it would be like to play a game on my new, shiny Droid Razr – right around Memorial Day, I think. I’ve made it to level 37 as of this morning and just finished breeding all the cardinal fishes, which was my first mystery breedable trophy. 

 

I am currently working two jobs and have very little time to pursue fun stuff, so I enjoy the game because, for the most part, it’s a very relaxing bit of pointless fun. (Even though I get a little too involved trying to complete the events — I need to work on that one! LOL!)

 

Thanks for giving us a new and happy home!

 

WebfootWiz

Re: Re-introductions

by PurpleBlue » Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:06 pm

Droij on Android forums

Purpleblue in the tapfish world.

purpleblue88 in pocketfrogs

Love the colors. Im in my 20s, going to graduate as a nurse soon,

……………………………

So, maybe you find this small potatoes, but what rankles me is those boye who bullied the bus monitor defending themselves by claimin that ” We didnt bully her, everything we said to her and about her is the truth.” So, the truth is now justification for bullies to target disabled folks? heck, I am sure upset by this cyber bully thing.

Let me know if you are still interested, I have saved plenty of email from these “empathetic” people.

 

take care Kath

MIA’S THOUGHTS- if you follow the articles above it becomes obvious that despite one other player the majority thought the admin was abusive and out of line.  The email below is from the moderator where she believes she is exempt from any discrimination laws.

 

~Kaitrin[/quote]

Apparently you know little about disability civil rights, it matters not if this forum is privately ownd run, it is a public accomodation.

Blocking me in response to my complaints re discrimination based on disiblity is retaliation.  Kathy

……………………………………………………..

3 thoughts on “Let’s tap Tapfish on the shoulder and tell them they are not gods they cannot discriminate against the disabled

  1. no matter how many times the users and moderators of tapfish want to flame my blog get over it it is against the law to moderate or act on the basis of disability they cant remocve someone saying im black or im a woman and the federal law says you cant edit or discriminate on the basis of disability no matter whether its face book google a blog or a iece of paper taped ta telephone pole so flame awy tapfisher the AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT IS A FEDERAL LAW read it

  2. I’m sure this will be deleted, just as you have deleted any and all replies to this “article”, but I would like to make a comment anyway. I feel it is important to address this issue. Let it be understood that I am not “flaming” anyone here. I am simply trying to make sure that the full story is represented. Since you have posted Kathy’s, I think it is only fair that you accept a polite reply from the other side of the story.

    You and Kathy (Red Hare) keep saying that this is based on her disability. The simple fact of the matter is that none of this has anything to do with her being disabled at all. In fact, she is the only one making her disability an issue. I am pretty sure I won’t be able to convince you of this, but I will give it a shot. In reality, it is her personality that is causing more problems than anything else. It is the reason the other forum was started and I’m also sure it is the reason they are trying to prevent her from being there.

    I’ve been a member of one of these forums for several years now. The moderators of the site are pretty fair, but they are also very firm about their rules. They do not tolerate people being rude or allow attacks on others like so many other sites on the internet. It is in fact the friendliest forum I have ever been a member of. After being a member for 3 years now, I can say without any doubt that they would not allow any form of bullying on this site. As far as the other site goes, the new one, I’m not a member.

    Overall, most of this started over a disagreement between a few members about buying something Tap Fish calls Fish Bucks. This is a form of money that can be purchased with real money to buy exclusive items in the game (think of Farmville and the money people pay to play that). There was a lot of discussion about this being the “proper” way to support the developers of the game. Some members said that they preferred to play for free, but others (including Kathy) insisted that people should be purchasing these Fish Bucks. Sounds like a simply disagreement, right? This was considered “ganging up”, “attacking” and “bullying”. Then when the issue was addressed via Private Message (operative word being private), Kathy decided to post the message in the open forum for everyone to read. The message contained nothing bad and she wasn’t being attacked, but she wanted to make a disagreement in private available for public consumption. This brought on more drama and is what eventually led to moderator involvement. When the other person involved in the Private conversation asked why she made it public, in a polite way I might add, she contacted several moderators. When they found nothing wrong with the exchange she escalated things to the site’s administrator.

    Now, I’m not the site admin so I do not know what went on in these conversations. What I do understand is that the site rules were brought up multiple times and Kathy starting posting links about the ADA and more or less threatening the site Admin and owner. Keep in mind, that at no point in time was her disability addressed by anyone, but Kathy. Nobody was calling her names, denying her access to the site, threatening her or anything else. I think this is what led to her being “accused of playing the disability card”. Since she started screaming to the high heavens that she was disabled and that she was unable to follow the site rules, due to her disability. I’m not sure which parts of rules she was having difficulty with, since the rules can be boiled down to a simple phrase of “don’t be rude”.

    Once all of this was more or less settled a post was made by the Admin telling everyone that they had a clean slate. He said that they need to start over and get along or he would end up shutting that part of the forum down to put an end to the drama and squabbling. This led to a bunch of threats by Kathy and a lot of further “discussion” from what I understand. Keep in mind that the forum we are talking about actually has nothing what so ever to do with this game. That part of the forum was created a long time ago and people are allowed to use it, but Tap Fish is not the sites main focus and never has been. The later “overreaction” as Kathy calls it, is how the rest of the site is normally maintained. The Tap Fish forum was largely ignored prior to this, as I understand it, because it is a social forum and not really a part of the main site. When the members demanded that the moderators get involved this is what happens.

    Once the dust settled from the Admin’s post, things went back to normal, for a day or two. Then a new crop of posts from Kathy bringing up past conflicts started to appear. Over and over again the posts were removed, but she continued to take little jabs and make side remarks about other members. With other members I have seen similar actions get them placed on probation, but this was not happening here. Even though she was violating the site rules. I can only assume that she had made enough threats about legal action that they didn’t want to do anything, but that really is an assumption on my part.

    I think this is why the other forum was created. People more or less became sick of dealing with her. No one was or is sick of dealing with her disabilities and nobody ever cared about her typos. Her personality is the problem and has been the whole time. The drama is draining and takes all the fun out of something that is supposed to be entertaining. There is a reason that she was referred to as a troll in some of the exchanges you posted. She liked to argue and cause drama. There are those that played back into it and fed the fire as well, but can you really blame anyone for not wanting it to continue when they move to another site? If you had to deal with someone that argued with you about everything and anything you ever said, would you want them around you?

    At the end of the day it is really unfortunate that Kathy is disabled. It is also unfortunate that she believes her disability has/had anything to do with what is going on here. I was never really a part of all of this and rarely posted about the game, but as a bystander I was able to watch it all happen from start to finish. I firmly believe that the majority of what she viewed as being attacked was just a simple misunderstanding or misinterpretation.

    • you have been lied to i was forwarded emails where the moderator stated “i am sick of disbaled folks playing the sympathy card on my forum i will not allow mention of your disability noone else needs to know”

Leave a Reply

