Adaptive Rock Climbing didn’t Just Take Me to the Top of the Wall, I have Been up Ever Since

Recently my doctor told me I needed physical therapy because of the risk of muscular atrophy from long term use of a wheelchair, so I rang over 100 professional therapists only to find the best deal was 30-45 minutes with 2-4lb leg weights doing repeative slow lifting at a cost of over $200 a session, because insurance doesn’t cover this.

I gave up in disgust and thought there was no hope. Then, as you know if you’ve read my last post, through social networking I met Kareemah Batts and was told about her group NYC Adaptive Climbing at the amazing Brooklyn Boulders.

I went, I climbed and I topped the wall and guess what it only cost $11, equipment and all. You go for 3 hours and the people who help are trained volunteers. There were no 2lb weights for my legs but the boost to my soul knew no maximum weight. It was mind blowing. My Ella just told me I need my own shoes and my own climbing rig because the lift in my spirits let alone the physical bonus is obvious to a blind person.

We all go through these quack treatments when we become disabled, you find yourself sitting in front of  some college kid with more degrees than facial lines whose not as old as your favorite shoes telling you that some MIT grad designed an ergonomic work out.The whole time your in her trendy uptown clinic and feeling pointless. You spend 30 minutes wondering when Ashton Kutcher is going to tell the world you’re punked.

Rock wall climbing might not be for everyone. For someone else it might be sailing or swimming or hiking. What ever does it for you remember, before you let the medical community not just steal your dignity but your self worth as well, just get out and try, get out and find your Kareemah and  your rock wall.  I guarantee you’ll know when it’s the one, because the only surgery you’ll need for a while is to get the smile off your face. And you’ll have the addictive urge to start Googling pro shops to find your own equipment, but one piece of equipment that costs you nothing is the self worth it just gave you back

11 thoughts on “Adaptive Rock Climbing didn’t Just Take Me to the Top of the Wall, I have Been up Ever Since

    • yes I have actually re-caught the bug back in Australia i climbed with emergency services in far remote towns with volunteer emergency services. but that was the first time i had climbed as a disabled person but I am not stopping.

  1. As the Mother of a daughter, using a wheelchair, and having a physical disability, I found this article so positive, and an inspiration.

    • Thankyou, I am the parent of a child born with disabilities and it is mothers like you who inspire me. I write this blog in the hope life gets just a little easier for parents like you and for great kids like your daughter. Please bring her to brooklyn boulders any thursday at 6pm, i would love to climb with her we have great volunteers that are ready willing and able to help anyone especially kids

  2. Pingback: Blogs & Social Media Update « Lead On Update

  3. Pingback: The Lead On Update » Blogs & Social Media Update

Leave a Reply

