Who Says the Disabled Can’t Climb the heights? No, Really Climb!

Back when I lived in my native Australia one of the places was a major fishing town. It was popular with tourists and had dangerous cliffs close to town on the Great Australian Bight.

As do most Australians, I volunteered with the local emergency services. I was an experienced climber so my job was with cliff rescue and I loved it. It was a life altering experience.

When I was on a rope, suspended between the ocean and heavens, my mind was clear. When I became disabled I thought I could never climb again. I heard of a place called Brooklyn Boulders an indoor climbing center so I called them a couple of years ago and they had nothing for me. The thought of disabled people hanging off their walls, at the time, was too much for them.

Fast forward to last week. I was watching New York Live or one of the other local shows, and they were featuring Brooklyn Boulders. The featured guest was one of the founding partners and he mentioned that they were running disabled climbing workshops. I rang and through a short game of email tag was connected to an amazing lady Kareemah. She was, I’m told herself, an amputee. Well long story short we have chatted up a storm on the phone and she rang me this morning to inform me that starting this week we will be, every Thursday, participating in climbing classes for the disabled. Keep your eye here for more information. Below is contact information for the amazing Kareemah.

So with climbing now at our finger tips can anyone keep us house bound?

Kareemahbatts@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

